McGeorge School of Law
A GLS student shakes hands during a competition

Competition Teams

The award-winning McGeorge Moot Court and Mock Trial Competition Programs, directed by the Center for Advocacy & Dispute Resolution, provides numerous opportunities for students to expand their courtroom experience, improve appellate advocacy skills, and refine their skills in client counseling, negotiation and arbitration.

Students receive coaching and practice in specific trial skills and each year, are able to test their abilities in competitions across the nation and around the world in such diverse subject areas as international law, constitutional law, criminal procedure, intellectual property, and more.

Explore Competition Teams

Advanced students are eligible for membership on competition teams which represent McGeorge in interscholastic competitions at regional, national, and international levels. Selection for any of the competitions is made by the faculty director of the Moot Court or Mock Trial or Negotiation programs.

McGeorge Moot Court teams regularly participate in the following competitions
  • Thomas Tang Moot Court
  • Pepperdine Entertainment Moot Court
  • San Diego Criminal Procedure Moot Court
  • Davis Asylum Moot Court
  • Pace International Criminal Court Competition
  • American Bar Association National Appellate Advocacy Competition
  • Saul Lefkowitz Trademark Moot Court
  • Jessup International Moot Court
  • Niagara International Moot Court
  • Traynor Moot Court
  • New York Bar National Moot Court Competition
Among the Mock Trial competitions our teams regularly attend
  • National Trial Competition
  • National Ethics Trial Competition (hosted by McGeorge)
  • National Civil Trial Competition
  • AAJ Student Competition
  • San Diego Defense Lawyers
  • National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers Competition
  • Buffalo-Niagara Mock Trial Competition
  • William Daniel National Competition
  • John Marshall / ABA Criminal Justice Section
The McGeorge Negotiation Team
  • ABA Negotiation Competition Champions in 2018
  • International Negotiation Competition Champions in 2018