McGeorge School of Law

Valedictorians Gasek, Nielsen lead 2020 Coif induction class

July 13, 2020

Although its annual awards ceremony could not be held in person, McGeorge's Order of the Coif chapter proudly accepted 14 new members into its ranks in May 2020.

Jade Gasek and Christopher Nielsen, the valedictorians of Day and Evening JD classes, respectively, lead the honor society's inductees. They are joined by salutatorians Lauren Orozco and Tamara Thiel. Others who finished in the top 10 percent of their classes, and thereby qualify for the award, include Emily Azevedo, Ruby Bitzer, Hayley Graves, Thomas Humann, Tatum Kennedy, Peter Leoni, Nicholas Pancharian, Amy Seilliere, MaryJo Smart, and Alison Southard.

Anthony M. Kennedy Professor of Law Leslie Gielow Jacobs, the president of the school's chapter and director of the Capital Center for Law & Policy, announced the Order of the Coif honorees. McGeorge holds the 59th chapter in the 86-member organization, which was founded in 1902 at the University of Illinois. Other schools in the prestigious legal society include Yale, Stanford, and the University of Michigan.

McGeorge celebrated its 96th academic year by awarding 200 degrees in May. Included in that total are 133 JDs, 13 LL.Ms, 10 Master of Science in Law (MSL) degrees, two Doctor of Juridical Science (JSD) degrees, 35 Master of Public Administration (MPA) degrees, and seven Master of Public Policy (MPP) degrees.