McGeorge School of Law

Sacramento Business Journal names 71 McGeorge School of Law alumni ‘best’ in region

September 6, 2019

University of the Pacific McGeorge School of Law alumni are clearly among the best in the Sacramento region.

The Sacramento Business Journal on Aug. 22 honored 71 Sacramento-area McGeorge alumni among its Best of the Bar for 2019, close to half of the total 150 or so attorneys lauded. The awardees are “experienced lawyers with strong ethics and someone whom you would refer a friend or colleague.” The winners were profiled in a special edition of the business newspaper.

“This special publication highlights more than 150 regional attorneys whose practice areas include cannabis criminal defense, tax and succession plans, commercial real estate disputes, and labor and employment law,” according to the publication. “All the attorneys included in the Best of the Bar were nominated and vetted by a panel of their peers, based on their level of expertise and their reputations within the legal community.”

The Best of the Bar 2019 McGeorge alumni include: Dacia Anderson ’15, Kelly Babineau ’97, Isaac Bacher ’09, Joshua Bake ’05, Meghan Baker ’05, Elise Baker ’98, Ashley Boulton ’12, Margaret Carew Toledo ’95, Joseph Carroll ’98, James Clarke ’88, June Coleman ’97, Edward Corey ’89, Ian Craig ’92, Kresta Daly ’98, William Davis ’80, Brandon Dias ’05, Eileen Diepenbrock ’85, Alan Donato ’97, Patricia Eichar ’07, John Fairbrook ’82, Mary Farrell ’94, Candice Fields ’94, Jacob Flesher ’00, Nicole Gleason ’98, Peter Glick ’87, Nubia Goldstein ’10, Mark Gorton ’81, Michael Gualco ’82, Glenn Guenard ’86, Julia Hahn ’04, Candice Harper ’81, Jonathan Hobbs ’96, Ryan Hooper ’05, Daniel Hunt ’08, Steven Hymas ’09, Thomas Johnson ’85, Larry Kazanjian ’76, Shawn Kent ’99, Kevin Khasigian ’07, Ryan Kocot ’14, Douglas Kraft ’91, Shawn Krogh ’03, Sophia Kwan ’08, Elizabeth Leet Jackson ’11, Gina Lera ’95, Richard Linkert ’79, Nicholas Maloof ’00, Thomas Nielsen ’72, Robert O’Hair ’77, Sherine Pahlavan ’09, Paul Pascuzzi ’90, William Portanova ’82, Jennifer Pruski ’96, Mark Reichel ’91, Andrew Sackheim ’95, Bruce Scheidt ’91, Brad Schultz ’05, Lindy Scoffield ’87, Kristine Scribner ’10, Nancy Sheehan ’83, Melville Smith ’77, Daniel Steinberg ’97, Robert Swanson ’92, Bruce Timm ’98, Craig Tomlins ’10, Charles Trainor ’77, Stanley Van Vleck ’91, Michael Vergara ’88, Bryan Victor ’03, Lizbeth West ’99 and Steven Williamson ’05.

McGeorge alumni practicing law in Nevada received similar accolades in July.

These individual honors for alumni come on the heels of several impressive national rankings for the law school. U.S. News and World Report’s 2019 Best Graduate Schools Guide ranked McGeorge the No. 7 law school in the nation for trial advocacy and No. 42 for part-time law school. The law school was also ranked No. 7 in The Princeton Review’s 2019 Greatest Resources for Minority Students list. And McGeorge was listed among preLaw Magazine's 2019 Most Diverse Law schools.