McGeorge School of Law

Jackson Wins GLS II Final Four Competition

April 14, 2018

Judge Christopher Whitten, Top Oral Advocate Stacie Jackson, Judge L. Felipe Restrepo and Judge Carolyn K. Delaney.

Judge Christopher Whitten, Top Oral Advocate Stacie Jackson, Judge L. Felipe Restrepo and Judge Carolyn K. Delaney.

Second-year student Stacie Jackson won the Top Oral Advocate Award at the McGeorge Global Lawyering Skills (GLS) II Final Four competition on April 12, 2018.

The distinguished judges who presided over the competition were: Judge L. Felipe Restrepo, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit; Judge Christopher Whitten, Superior Court of Arizona, Maricopa County; and Judge Carolyn K. Delaney, U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of California.

In addition to the outstanding performance by Ms. Jackson, a number of other students were honored at the Final Four event. Finalist awards were given to Cassandra Ninke, Dylan de Wit, and David Witkin. Best brief awards were conferred upon Jessica Gandara, Jessica Johnson, Megan McCauley, and Nicholas Pancharian.

While in most law schools students participate in Moot Court exercises, here students simulate a much more realistic litigation experience. Students work with a single case preparing and arguing motions in the trial court through the appeals process following a judgment. This way, students see how the case evolves, applying attorneys' analytical skills to solve real litigation problems. McGeorge is the only law school in California to provide four semesters of classes focusing on the skills lawyers agree are most critical to success in practice: legal research, writing, analysis, and advocacy.

Details about this year's problem, the steps preceding the Final Four competition, and what three previous participants are up to now are in the preview story "March Madness Round-Up at McGeorge," by Professor Blanchard and Associate Dean Moylan.  

GLS II was taught this year by Professors Lindsey Blanchard, Daniel Croxall, Hether Macfarlane, Jeffrey Proske, Jean Hobler, Richard Schickele and Edward Telfeyan. Associate Dean Mary-Beth Moylan is the director of the GLS Program. Annette Bethea served as the GLS administrative assistant.

The GLS Final Four Oral Advocates receive the Diana P. Scott award. Ms. Scott, a 1978 McGeorge graduate, served two terms on the Alumni Association Board prior to her death in 2010.

GLS II Final Four Photos

GLS II Final Four 2018