McGeorge School of Law

Ben Frantz 2018 Mock Trial Competition Top Honors Shared by Three

February 20, 2018

Ben Frantz 2018

Simone Leighty, Lauren Orozco, and Adriana Garcia shared Ben Frantz Top Honors.

First-year students Adriana Garcia, Simone Leighty and Lauren Orozco emerged victorious in the Annual Benjamin Frantz First-Year Mock Trial Competition, which was held on Feb. 3, 2018.

The Ben Frantz First-Year Mock Trial is named after the late Professor Ben Frantz, whose generous gift endowed and initiated the annual event in 1996. Open to all first-year students, it draws a large group of contestants each year, and three winners are chosen from the finalists. This year brought about a record-setting number of signups with more than 70 students. Of those, 20 advanced to the final round.

Garcia has a bachelor's degree in Politics and Latin American and Latino Studies from UC Santa Cruz. Leighty graduated from Fresno State with a bachelor's in Criminology - Forensic Behavioral Sciences, with two minors in Philosophy and Political Science. Orozco is a Chico State graduate with two bachelor's degrees in Legal Studies and Criminal Justice with a Paralegal Certificate.

Additional awards for this year's competition included:

  • Best Opening Statement - Thomas Humann
  • Best Direct Examination - Sam Hibbs
  • Best Cross Examination - Celeena Wall
  • Best Closing Argument - Consuelo Amezcua
  • Most Professional - Yahir Barragan

Tiffany Sala '18 coordinated the competition, which has become a major launching point for McGeorge's nationally recognized Mock Trial Competition Team. Current Competition Team members led workshops on various aspects of trial advocacy on Jan. 19, and preliminary rounds of the Competition were held on Jan. 26 and 27.