McGeorge School of Law

McGeorge Teams Win Regional Round of ABA National Competition, Both Advance to Final

February 23, 2017

Moot Court teams

American Bar Association Moot Court Teams: Student research assistant Tyler Horn, professor Dan Croxall, Rosemary Deck, Rainey Jacobson, Lilliana Udang, Amanpreet Grewal, Anna Curry, Michael Taney, student coach Navnit Bhandal, and professor Ed Telfeyan.

Two McGeorge teams will compete against 22 other finalists at the American Bar Association's National Appellate Advocacy Competition national tournament in April. Both teams won all five rounds at the regional tournament held Feb. 16-18, 2017 in San Francisco, California, and are among the four teams from the region that will compete in the final round on April 6-8 in Chicago. This is the second straight year, and the fourth year of the past seven, that McGeorge has placed both of its teams in the national finals.

One of the McGeorge regional championship teams is comprised of Lilliana Udang, Anna Curry and Rainey Jacobson. The other team's members were Rosemary Deck and Michael Taney. In addition to winning all rounds, Udang was named the Top Oralist of the competition, and her team's brief was the fifth best in the region.

Professor Ed Telfeyan, Director of the McGeorge Moot Court Program, was assisted in coaching the teams by Professor Daniel Croxall, '08, Leo Moniz, '12, and 3L Navnit Bhandal.

"When Aman Grewal, the third team member of the Rosemary Deck and Michael Taney team, was unexpectedly unable to attend the regional, the two divided up the issues and, in three days, put together substantive arguments, which, coupled with their extraordinary oral advocacy skills, gave them the edge they needed to win their rounds," said Professor Telfeyan. "It was a remarkable exhibition of fortitude, courage, and teamwork for which they deserve special praise."