McGeorge School of Law

Lead Article in Kansas Law Review Written by Sprankling

January 20, 2017

Distinguished Professor of Law John Sprankling

Distinguished Professor of Law John Sprankling

Distinguished Professor of Law John G. Sprankling's article "Property and the Roberts Court" was published this month as the lead article in Volume 65 of the Kansas Law Review.

Professor Sprankling's article 'demonstrates that under the leadership of Chief Justice Roberts the Court has expanded the constitutional and statutory protections afforded to owners to a greater extent than any prior Court. It analyzes the key trends in the Court's jurisprudence that will shape its decisions on property issues in future decades.' The full article is available online here.

Professor Sprankling is an internationally-recognized authority on property law and the author of six books on this subject. His treatise Understanding Property Law is used by law students across the United States; it has also been translated into Chinese and published by Peking University Press. His casebook Property: A Contemporary Approach, written with Ray Coletta, is the first property textbook to be published in both hard copy and electronic formats, and has been used at over 70 law schools. His most recent book is The International Law of Property, published by Oxford University Press, which examines the relationship between property rights and international law. His articles have appeared in journals published at Chicago, Columbia, Cornell, North Carolina, Stanford, UCLA, and other law schools.

After teaching at UC Hastings and Stanford, he joined the McGeorge faculty. At McGeorge, he has served as Interim Dean and as Associate Dean for Academic Affairs. He received the Eberhardt Teacher-Scholar Award from the University of the Pacific, and was selected as Teacher of the Year by McGeorge students. He has served as the Chair of the Property Law Section of the Association of American Law Schools, and also served as a member of the LexisNexis Law School Publishing Advisory Board from 2013-15.