McGeorge School of Law

Adams, Boulad and Cohen Win Ben Frantz 1L Mock Trial Competition

February 17, 2017

Ben Franz Mock Trial Competition Winners

Michelle Ahronovitz, '17, as witness and Professor Jay Leach as judge.

First-year students Davis Adams, Tariq Boulad and Mariella Cohen emerged victorious in the Annual Ben Frantz First-Year Mock Trial Competition, which was held in the Courtroom Building on Feb. 11, 2017.

The Ben Frantz First-Year Mock Trial is named after the late Professor Ben Frantz, whose generous gift endowed and initiated the annual event in 1996. Open to all first-year students, more than 60 students competed this year in the preliminary rounds, with 22 advancing to the final round.

Additional awards for this year's competition included:

  • Best Opening Statement - Henry Mantel
  • Best Closing Argument - Dylan Dewit
  • Best Direct Examination - Jessica Gandara
  • Best Cross Examination - Chelsea Givens
  • Most Professional - Kyle Harrison

The students used this statement of facts to put on a case representing either the United States as the prosecution or Dean Francis J. Mootz III as the defense. Dean Mootz was charged with treason. He defended that he was acting out of duress because "the bad guys" threatened to harm his dog Che.

Michelle Ahronovitz, '17, coordinated the competition, which has become a major launching point for McGeorge's nationally recognized Mock Trial Competition Team. Current Competition Team members led workshops on various aspects of trial advocacy on Jan. 21, and preliminary rounds of the Competition were held on Jan. 27 and 28.