McGeorge School of Law

AAJ National Finals Appearance Highlights Trial Team's Spring

May 9, 2017

Students, coaches and professors on the McGeorge Mock Trial teams at the awards ceremony

Some of the McGeorge Mock Trial team members, coaches and professors at the Trial & Appellate Advocacy Awards Ceremony on April 27, 2017.

A McGeorge team advanced to the national championship round of the American Association for Justice National Student Trial Advocacy Competition, highlighting a strong spring 2017 campaign for the law school.

Mike Jones, Alyssa Malinoski, Leslie Shergill and Kelli Tong dominated the AAJ Regional held in early March in Seattle. They fought to a ninth-place finish in the national finals held from March 30-April 2 in Cleveland. Keith Hill, '96, co-coach with Thien Ho, '98, accompanied the team to Ohio. Wake Forest won the title.

Another McGeorge team, composed of Josh Hudson, Ashley Pane, Alex Smith, Nia Traylor and coached by Alan Donato, '09, Jeff Schaff, '09, also competed in the AAJ regional and worked with the national qualifiers.

In other spring mock trial action, two two-person teams -- Nicole Low/Gage Marchini and Heather Phillips/Michelle Ahronovitz -- scored well in a National Trial Competition regional in February in San Francisco. Under the tutelage of Jesse Saucedo, '11, and Jason Schaff, '06, both teams made it to the semifinals there.

In March, Northwestern won the championship of the venerable Texas Young Lawyers Association-sponsored event. Brittany Berzin, Kyle Chin, Albert Mendoza, and Tiffany Sala along with coaches Teal Ericson, '13, and David Norton, '13, represented McGeorge admirably at the South Texas Challenge, held March 30-April 2 in Houston. Georgia won the title.

McGeorge also hosted, but did not compete in the National Ethics Trial Competition in mid-March in Sacramento that was won by UC Hastings. Professor Jay Leach chaired the prestigious event.

Professor Cary Bricker, the director of McGeorge's award-winning mock trial competition team, is already busily assembling her 2017-18 traveling team. Sixty students participated in team tryouts in mid-April. The Mock Trial team for the 2017-2018 academic year has been announced. Congratulations to Davis Adams, David Anguiano, Tariq Boulad, Mariella Cohen, Ashley DeGuzman, Chelsea Givens, Uri Grant, Alyssa Malinoski, Gage Marchini, Dylan Marques, Albert Mendoza, August McNab, Tiffany Sala, Tiffani Thomas, Kelli Tong, and Allison Wieder.

Photos from the Trial & Appellate Advocacy 2017 Awards Ceremony