McGeorge School of Law

Two McGeorge Teams Win Regional Round of ABA National Competition, Advance to Final

March 10, 2016

ABA National Team

Erin Smith Doering, '11, Anna Curry, Patrick Lewis, Virginia Martucci, Kimberly Van Spronsen, Sheena Farro, James Ward, Karly McCrory, Jenifer Gee, Rosie Deck, Professor Ed Telfeyan.

Two McGeorge teams will compete against 22 other finalists at the American Bar Association's National Appellate Advocacy Competition national tournament in April. Both teams won all five rounds at the regional tournament held March 3 - 5 in San Francisco, California.

One of the teams was comprised of third year law students Sheena Farro, Virginia Martucci, and James Ward. Their team received the third best brief award. In addition, Martucci was named the ninth best oralist in the tournament and Farro was named the second best oralist in the tournament.

The other winning team was comprised of third year law students Karly McCrory, Jenifer Gee, and Kimberly Van Spronsen. McCrory was named the fifth best oralist in the tournament. Of the 32 teams that competed in the regional tournament, McGeorge students claimed three of the top ten oralist awards in addition to the brief award, and the honor of advancing both teams to the finals in Chicago April 7-9. This is the third year of the past six years that two McGeorge teams have advanced to the ABA national finals.

"I was assisted in coaching these great students by Erin Smith Doering, '11, and student coach Patrick Lewis," said Professor Ed Telfeyan, Director of the McGeorge Moot Court Program. "Second year students Anna Curry and Rosie Deck also assisted the coaches as research assistants."

Gee and Van Spronsen also advanced to the final rounds (from the Northern California regional tournament hosted by McGeorge) in the New York National Moot Court 66th Annual Competition held in February 2016, after the team took first place in the Northern California Regional Competition held at McGeorge in November 2015. McGeorge has sent a team to the New York National finals for three of the past four years. In February, McGeorge students Chris Maloney and Catherine Hawe were the winning team at the National Cultural Heritage Moot Court Competition.

The McGeorge Moot Court team has accomplished five first place finishes, three best oralists and two best brief awards so far this academic year.