McGeorge School of Law

McGeorge Wins First Place 2016 LSAC Diversity Matters Award

June 1, 2016

Award image

LSAC announced McGeorge School of Law as the first place Diversity Matters award winner on May 31, 2016, at the annual meeting.

The Law School Admission Council (LSAC) honored McGeorge as the first place Diversity Matters award winner at the Annual Meeting and Educational Conference on May 31, 2016.

Tracy Simmons, Assistant Dean of Admissions, Diversity Initiatives & Financial Aid, accepted the award on behalf of McGeorge. This first place award marks the fourth year in a row that McGeorge was recognized as a top three finalist for the Diversity Matters award. In 2015 McGeorge received the second place Diversity Matters Award. The Award is given to law schools that have demonstrated the highest level of outreach to racially and ethnically diverse students from the target audience of LSAC's campaign.

LSAC developed the campaign to encourage racially and ethnically diverse students to discover career opportunities in law and choose a path in undergraduate school to help them succeed. The contest runs from July 1 to April 30 each year. In determining the winners, LSAC considers creativity, event attendance, and overall use of all funds.

Other schools cited by LSAC among the ten Diversity Matters Awards finalists were Arizona State, John Marshall, Brooklyn, Chapman, Hofstra, Loyola Chicago, Penn State, Denver, and Maryland.