McGeorge School of Law

McGeorge Sweeps Traynor Moot Court Competition

April 5, 2016

Traynor team

Ian McGlone, Sean Creadick and Michael Shepherd holding the "hardware" from their wins.

The McGeorge School of Law team won the 2016 Roger J. Traynor California Appellate Moot Court Competition and took home three awards. Third year law students Ian McGlone, Sean Creadick and Michael Shepherd won the overall competition, won the top oral advocacy team award, and won the best brief award. In addition, Ian was selected as the second best oralist in the tournament.

"Our team pretty much swept the table in the awards that were available," said Professor Ed Telfeyan, Director of the McGeorge Moot Court Program. "I am so proud of these team members and coaches."

The Traynor competition is California's oldest and largest moot tournament. McGeorge has a history of success in the tournament, and in recent years won second place in 2015, and won first place and top five oralist in 2014. McGeorge defeated UC Berkeley, the 2015 Traynor winner, in the final round of the tournament.

The McGeorge team this year was coached by professor Hether Macfarlane, moot court alumna Corrie Erickson Manning, '11,' and student coach and honors board member Raja Hafed, '16. Second year student Conor Harkins was a research assistant for the team. Corrie, Raja and Conor accompanied the team members to Fresno, where the final round was held before a panel that included California Supreme Court Justice Ming Chin.

McGeorge will send two teams to the American Bar Association's National Appellate Advocacy Competition to compete against 22 other regional finalists in Chicago April 7-9, 2016. The McGeorge Moot Court team has accomplished six first place finishes, four best oralists and three best brief awards so far this academic year.