McGeorge School of Law

McGeorge Moot Court Program Starts Season with Tang Success

October 18, 2016

Traynor Team 2016

Thomas Tang Moot Court Team from left: Professor Hether Macfarlane, student coach Wilson Bao, Melissa Bocanegra, KC Souza, student research assistant Wiemond Wu, and alumni coach Brad Coutinho, '12.

The McGeorge Moot Court Program has embarked on a full schedule this academic year that includes hosting the Roger J. Traynor California Appellate Advocacy Competition in the spring. The first competition was the Thomas Tang Western Regional on Oct. 15, where KC Souza and Melissa Bocanegra won second best brief.

Professor Ed Telfeyan, who has built the program into a national power, will send his charges to 11 tournaments. Faculty and alumni coaches, the latter former members of the McGeorge Moot Court Honors Board, will accompany the two- and four-person teams on the road. The competing students are largely drawn from the Moot Court Honors Board, which is responsible for administering the program and selecting the team members for each competition.

The McGeorge Moot Court Program has achieved national recognition with top ten rankings in two of the last five years (8th in 2010-'11 and 10th this past year). The U.S. News & World Report 2017 Best Graduate Schools Guide ranked McGeorge School of Law as 12th in Trial Advocacy.

Here's a look at the complete 2016-17 McGeorge moot court schedule:

Fall Competitions

Thomas Tang (Western Regional)
Date: Oct. 15, 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Team: Melissa Bocanegra and KC Souza; Research Assistant: Wiemond Wu
Coaches: Professor Hether Macfarlane, Brad Coutinho, '12, and 3L Wilson Bao
Note: The McGeorge team received the second best brief award at the competition.

Chicago Bar Association
Date: Nov. 10-12, 2016
Location: Chicago
Team: Anna Curry and Rainey Jacobson; Research Assistant: Vilma Casanova
Coaches: Professor Michael Vitiello, Mark Gallagher, '95, and 3L Anam Hasan

New York National (Region 12)
Date: Nov. 11-12, 2016
Location: Davis
Teams: Rosemary Deck, Amanpreet Grewal and Kyle Owen; Melissa Currier, Andia Farzaneh and Lilly Udang;
Research Assistant: Kynsie Lovell
Coaches: Professor Ed Telfeyan, '75, Professor Daniel Croxall, '08, Etan Zaitsu, '12, and 3L Navnit Bhandal

National Criminal Procedure
Date: Nov. 11-13, 2016
Location: San Diego
Teams: Tania Dominguez and José Parra; Katie Hulse and Michael Taney; Research Assistant: Alexis Holmes
Coaches: Professors Ed Telfeyan, '75, and Lindsey Blanchard, Gil Vega, '10, and 3L Dillon Hockerson

Pepperdine National Entertainment
Date: Nov. 12-13, 2016
Location: Malibu
Team: Anton Babich, Conor Harkins and Daniel Pickolick
Coaches: Professor Mike Mireles, '98, and 3L Suliman Khan

Spring Competitions

Saul Lefkowitz (West Regional)
Date: Feb. 11, 2017
Location: San Francisco
Team: Anton Babich and Melissa Currier
Coaches: Professor Mike Mireles, '98, and 3L Suliman Khan

Philip C. Jessup International Law (Pacific Regional)
Date: Feb. 23-26, 2017
Location: Portland, Oregon
Team: Jerod Boucher, Isabel Glaese, Bahar Madani and Joey Parkin; Research Assistant: Bryce Fick
Coaches: Professors Steve McCaffrey, John Sims, Casey Anderson, and 3L Mary Varni

DePaul National Cultural Heritage
Date: Feb. 24, 25, 2017
Location: Chicago
Team Members: Melissa Bocanegra and Tania Dominguez: Kyle Owen and Daniel Pickolick
Coaches: Professor Jeff Proske and Diana Chinn, '10, and 3L Anam Hasan

ABA National Appellate (Regional)
Date: March 2017
Location: TBD
Team: Rosie Deck, Rainey Jacobson and Lilliana Udang: Anna Curry, Amanpreet Grewal and Michael Taney; Research Assistant: Tyler Horn
Coaches: Professor Ed Telfeyan, '75, Professor Daniel Croxall, '08, Leo Moniz, '12, and 3L Navnit Bhandal

Roger J. Traynor California Appellate
Date: April 1-2, 2017
Location: Sacramento
Team: Conor Harkins, José Parra and KC Souza; Research Assistant: Garrett Seuell;
Coaches: Professor Hether Macfarlane, Corrie Manning, '11, and 3L Wilson Bao

UC Davis Asylum & Refugee
Date: March 4-5, 2017
Location: Davis
Team: Andia Farzeneh and Katie Hulse; Research Assistant: Kevin Duewel
Coaches: Mary-Beth Moylan, Blake Nordahl and 3L Dillon Hockerson