McGeorge School of Law

Growing Array of Powell Matched Endowments to Support Student Scholarships

December 22, 2016

Professor Emeritus Claude Rohwer

Professor Emeritus Claude Rohwer recently pledged an additional $70,000 to the established Professor Claude D. Rohwer Vietnam Endowed Award.

McGeorge School of Law is proud to announce that several recent Powell Fund matched gifts will begin to support students through scholarship distributions in 2017. The law school is seeking additional support from its community for recent endowments as 2016 draws to an end.

All of these funds have reached the initial $50,000 minimum gift requirement to receive a Powell Match for an endowed student scholarship, whether from a single donor or a pool of individuals. Additional gifts to any of these funds will continue to be matched 1:1 until matching funds run out.

Newly Matched Funds Distributing First Awards in Fall 2017

The McGeorge Faculty Diversity Endowed Scholarship and the Jane Kelso Diversity Endowed Scholarship funds began fundraising efforts in spring 2015, and additional individual contributions have grown the funds extensively. With the Powell Match, the total of these two diversity scholarships was raised to more than $200,000. In one year's time, McGeorge community members have helped to establish more than $400,000 in scholarships dedicated to diversity.

The Thelma B. and Thomas P. Hart Foundation recently established the Capital Center Law and Policy Endowed Scholarship, which will provide a scholarship for JD students who are pursuing the Capital Lawyering Concentration and are interested in a career in public interest, public service or policy development.

Existing Funds that Had Recent Gift Additions

The Jeffrey K. Poilé Memorial Civil Rights Endowed Scholarship grew through a Powell Match gift this year. Jeffrey Poilé, who passed away in 1992, was the life partner of Professor Larry Levine. This scholarship will continue to provide support to one or more students who are committed to using their legal education to extend and protect the civil rights of gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender people.

The McGeorge Alumni Association Endowed Scholarship, which was originally established by the McGeorge Alumni Association Board, has been one of the largest endowed scholarship funds for many years. In 2014, the current Alumni Board agreed to raise an additional $50,000 to take advantage of the Powell Match. This fall the McGeorge Alumni Association Endowed Scholarship will distribute more than $110,000 in scholarships to second-year students with demonstrated financial need and academic ability.

Professor Emeritus Claude D. Rohwer established the Professor Claude D. Rohwer Vietnam Endowed Award after his retirement. He recently pledged an additional $70,000 gift to the fund, which will grow the endowment to $161,000 once combined with the existing funds and the Powell Match 1:1 program. The award is intended to assist with the travel and living expenses associated with an externship position in Vietnam, or in the Pacific Rim, for five to six weeks during the summer. Professor Emeritus Rohwer, a "founding father" of the law school who was one of the first four full-time faculty members in 1967, officially retired in 2005 and continued to teach until 2010.

New Funds to be Matched 1:1

Michael Belote, '87, made his second Powell Match Fund gift this year through the establishment of the Michael Belote Public Interest Endowed Scholarship, which will support students involved in public service at McGeorge. Belote's first gift created the Michael Belote Capital Lecture Series.

Joseph J. Babich, a founding partner of the law firm of Dreyer Babich Buccola Wood Campora, LLP, established the Honorable Judge Joseph G. Babich Endowed Scholarship in honor of his father in November 2016. Judge Babich served on the Sacramento Superior Court from 1964-1984 and was a colleague of former McGeorge Dean Gordon D. Schaber. The scholarship will be awarded to students at McGeorge from traditionally underserved and underrepresented populations.

Paul Dassenko, '82, established the Paul Dassenko Endowed Scholarship this year. The fund will provide support to McGeorge students with a concentration or demonstrated interest in international law.

Fund on the Quest toward the Powell Match

Ronald Blubaugh, '75, is spearheaded efforts to grow the existing Charles D. Driscoll Labor Award. Established by the Sacramento Journalism Foundation, Inc., to honor the memory of Charles D. Driscoll, this award goes to a student who exemplifies the highest commitment to the improvement of labor-management relations.

Additional individual gifts to any of the funds that have qualified for the Powell Match will also be matched 1:1 through the Powell Fund Match program.