McGeorge School of Law

NAAC Best Brief Award Highlights Spring Moot Court Team Results

March 19, 2015

Rose, Karayel and Hang

Annette Rose, Suzan Karayel and Jacqueline Hang

Several McGeorge teams and individuals received honors in the first three major moot court spring competitions that the law school entered.

Suzan Karayel, Jacqueline Hang and Annette Rose captured the Best Brief award at the ABA National Appellate Advocacy Competition (NAAC) regional held Feb. 26-28, 2015 in San Francisco. Their brief was one of 30 briefs to be nominated for the Scribes National Best Appellate Brief award, which is selected later in the year. They reached the semifinal round of the event, which was won by Case Western Reserve. Shay Billington, Andrew Naylor and Sarah Schumacher also represented McGeorge at the tournament with Billington being recognized in the top ten of the Best Oralist category.

On the same weekend, Amelia Hicks, Matt Chen, Robert Mayville, Ric Silvestri and Christina Frost participated in a regional of the 56th annual Phillip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition at Lewis & Clark in Portland. Neither McGeorge unit advanced to the semifinal round, but Chen captured an award for third-best oralist.

Earlier in February, two teams traveled to Washington, D.C., to represent McGeorge in the Niagara International Moot sponsored by the Canada-U.S. Law Institute. Caroline Soto and Ryan Hawley formed one team while Amanda Seely and Erin Brennan comprised the other in the competition, which dealt with immigration, human rights and Great Lakes environmental law issues. The brief authored by Soto and Hawley-Jones was recognized as the second-best respondent brief. Windsor Law of Canada won the overall competition.

The McGeorge moot court team wraps up its season in mid-April with a trip to San Francisco for the Roger J. Traynor California Appellate tournament.