McGeorge School of Law

Judge Flores to give 2015 McGeorge Commencement Address

May 14, 2015


The Honorable Daniel A. Flores of the San Francisco Superior Court

The Honorable Daniel A. Flores of the San Francisco Superior Court will deliver the commencement address at the graduation ceremony of the McGeorge School of Law, University of the Pacific at 2 p.m., Saturday, May 16, 2015, at Sacramento's Memorial Auditorium.

Judge Flores began his term as a judge in the San Francisco Superior Court on Jan. 15, 2015 as the court's youngest judge at age 38. He graduated from California State University, Sacramento, and is a Class of 2001 alumnus of the McGeorge School of Law, University of the Pacific. Judge Flores began his legal career as a litigation associate at Ropers Majeski in the San Francisco office, and in 2005 he established his own practice in downtown San Francisco, where he has represented a mixture of business clients and community members in various legal proceedings. He was named a Super Lawyer for 2013 and 2014. Judge Flores currently presides in a felony courtroom where his day-to-day tasks include setting bail, hearing constitutional challenges, and conducting preliminary hearings in cases ranging from vandalism to homicides.

McGeorge will award 198 Juris Doctorate degrees, 15 LLM degrees and seven Master of Science in Law (MSL) degrees at the law school's 91st Commencement. Dean Francis J. Mootz III will preside over the ceremony, and University President Dr. Pamela A. Eibeck will join him in the platform party.

Student Honors

Jacquelyn Loyd (Day Division) and Elizabeth Kate Ramos (Evening Division) will be honored with Outstanding Graduate Awards for academic achievement. Student speakers at the commencement ceremony will be Junn Raemarc Oga Paulino (Day Division), Lexi Purich Howard (Evening Division), Licia Liguori (LLM) and Erin K. Norwood (MSL).

Vallerye Allyn Anderson Mosquera (Day Division) and Nicholas Joseph Kump (Evening Division) received Outstanding Scholastic Achievement Awards. Ernesto Omar Falcon (Day Division) and Sarah Marie Schumacher (Evening Division) received Outstanding Student Achievement Awards. ALI-ABA Scholarship & Leadership Awards went to Devina Gayle Douglas (Day Division) and Tia Kemokai (Evening Division). Jackie Hang and Chelsea Alix Tibbs (Day Division) and Lexi Purich Howard (Evening Division) received Outstanding Student Service Awards.