McGeorge School of Law

Deck, Koonce Share Top Honors in 7th Annual 1L Moot Court

April 2, 2015

Boucher, Koonce, Deck, Parra

First-year law students Jared Boucher, Sharlene Koonce, Rosemary Deck and Jose Parra

Rosemary Deck and Sharlene Koonce starred in the 7th Annual 1L Moot Court Competition, which was held in March 2015.

Deck earned the Best Overall Advocate award by winning the Best Brief segment of the event and also reaching the oral advocacy finals. Koonce garnered Best Oralist honors and wrote the second-best brief. K.C. Souza, Wesley Lunkley, and Mary Varni were additional runner-up authors.

Jose Parra and Jared Boucher also reached the law school courtroom final four, which was judged by a prestigious panel of Third District Court of Appeal jurists that included Justice William Murray, Justice Louis Mauro, and Justice Elena Duarte.

Robert Mayville directed the competition with the assistance of other Honors Board members. Professor Ed Telfeyan, the director of the McGeorge Moot Court Program, Professor Michael Vitiello, and Professor Raquel Aldana judged the semifinal rounds.