McGeorge School of Law

Ben Frantz Mock Trial Competition Top Honors Shared by Three

March 4, 2015

Ben Franz

Michelle Ahronovitz, Jose Parra and Sharlene Koonce shared Ben Franz Top Honors.

Three first-year law students emerged victorious in the 20th Annual Benjamin Frantz First-Year Mock Trial Competition, which was held on Feb. 21, 2015.

Michelle Ahronovitz, Sharlene Koonce and Jose Parra shared top honors in one of McGeorge's most-popular intramural events. Ahronovitz is a UC Davis psychology graduate who hails from Rocklin. Koonce came much farther to get to law school as the Mangilao, Guam, native carries a legal studies degree from America Military University. Parra's hometown is Holtville, California, and he majored in political science at Cal State University, San Marcos.

Additional awards for this year's competition included:

  • Best Opening Statement — Sharlene Koonce
  • Best Direct Examination — Kyle Chin
  • Best Cross Examination — Lauryn Robinson
  • Best Closing Argument — Heather Phillips and Nicole Vera

Selena Farnesi, '15, coordinated the tournament, which has produced many future stars of McGeorge's nationally recognized mock trial intercollegiate team. Current team members led workshops on various aspects of trial advocacy leading up to the Ben Frantz event.