McGeorge School of Law

O'Neill, Whaley Lead Coif Class

May 21, 2013

Amy O’Neill and William Whaley

Valedictorians Amy O’Neill and William Whaley

Day Division valedictorian Amy O'Neill and Evening Division valedictorian William Whaley headline a group of 33 new members of the McGeorge chapter of the Order of the Coif.

The academic stars of the Class of 2013 were inducted into the honor society at an on-campus banquet on May 17, 2013. Professor Michael Vitiello, the chapter's president, emceed the event, which featured Dean Francis J. Mootz III as its keynote speaker. Many alumni Coif members attended the luncheon, which is open each year to all alums who are members of the organization that traces its roots to medieval England.

It was the 31st annual Order of the Coif Congratulatory Luncheon for McGeorge, which holds the 59th chapter in the 82-law school honorary society. Other schools that boast chapters in the organization include Yale, Emory, Stanford and the University of Chicago. New graduates must have finished in the top 10 percent of their classes to qualify for election to membership.

Professor Clark Kelso, secretary/treasurer of the McGeorge chapter, introduced the new Coif members. In addition to the valedictorians O'Neill and Whaley, they include:

  • James Anderson
  • George Bakerjian
  • Sara Kathleen Batres
  • Anthony Bento
  • Brian Bitzer
  • Eric Bonnett
  • Andrew Boriskin
  • Ashley Bryden
  • Brandt Butko
  • Daphne Chiu
  • Russell Cooper
  • Lauren Foust
  • Mark Freeman
  • Justin Giovannettone
  • Daniel Hawk
  • Nicholas Horton
  • Nghi Huynh
  • Elliot Karlin
  • Rebecca Kramer
  • Amanda MacQueen
  • Courtney Martin
  • Brendon Parenti
  • Allison Pease
  • Zachary Scalzo
  • Karl Schweikert
  • Erica Scott
  • Sydney Smith
  • Kaitlyn Sommer
  • Rebecca White
  • Rafael Zaychenko
  • John Ziegler
  • Tamana Zhublawar