McGeorge School of Law

Norton, Ziegler Take Top Honors

May 2, 2013

John Ziegler with Ed Telfeyan

John Ziegler with Professor Ed Telfeyan

David Norton, '13, and John Ziegler, '13, walked off with top honors on April 25, 2013, at McGeorge's annual Mock Trial/Moot Court ceremony.

Norton, who starred in the National Civil Trial event last fall and the National Trial Competition this spring, was named the Mock Trial Advocate of the Year. Ziegler, a standout in the New York National Moot and the Niagara International tournament, earned the Moot Court team's MVP award.

Among the many individuals recognized at the year-end ceremony were Cole Sherman, '13, and Theresa Schriever, '13, who took third place in the 14-team Roger J. Traynor California Appellate Moot Court Competition, which was held April 13-14, 2013, in Fresno. Schriever, originally cast as a research assistant for the team, stepped in at the last moment to replace an ill teammate while Cole was recognized as one of the tourney's top oralists.

One of the last events of the year was the on-campus McGeorge 1L Moot Court competition, which was held March 30. A distinguished panel, Justices Ron Robie, '67, and George Nicholson of the California Court of Appeal, Third Appellate District, and Sacramento Superior Court Judge Thadd Blizzard, '78, scored the event. Richard Silvestri took best brief and overall honors while Robert Mayville took the top oralist award.

Professors Jay Leach and Ed Telfeyan, '75, presided over the awards ceremony while Cliff Carter, the president of the Capitol City Trial Lawyers Association, presented certificates to the leading students in the fall and spring Trial Advocacy course.