McGeorge School of Law

Moot, Mock Teams Finish High

March 5, 2013

Alisha Heilman and Peter Patrick Handy

Alisha Heilman and Peter Patrick Handy

Alisha Heilman and Peter Patrick Handy were the second runners-up in the West Regional of the 22nd Annual Saul Lefkowitz Moot Court Competition, which was held Feb. 9, 2013, in San Francisco. The third-place finish by Professor Mike Mireles' team in a 24-team field highlighted a flurry of recent moot court and mock trial events in which McGeorge teams competed.

In late January, the team of Marianna Dietrich, Lauren Noland and John Ziegler reached the quarterfinals of the 63th Annual New York National Moot Court Competition 30-team championship. McGeorge had qualified for the finals by winning the fall Northern California regional behind the top oralist performance of Ziegler.

Pooja Kumar and Marianna Dietrich, coached by Professors Gretchen Franz and Mary-Beth Moylan, advanced to the quarter-finals of the Sixth Annual Asylum & Refugee Law Moot, held Feb. 15-16, at UC Davis School of Law. UC Hastings defeated Pepperdine in the finals of that 18-team tournament.

Devin Black, Lauren Noland and Madison Simmons received the second best brief award and advanced to the semi-finals of the Fourth Annual Cultural Heritage Law Moot Court Competition, held Feb. 22-23 at DePaul University College of Law in Chicago. Professors Jeff Proske and Maureen Moran coached the team.

In January, Norton and Martin won the annual All-McGeorge event, beating out Iler and Kia and two honors teams — Michael Coleman/Allison Cross, Andrew Boriskin/Madison Simmons — drawn from the best performers in the fall semester Trial Advocacy course and coached by Jesse Saucedo, '11.