McGeorge School of Law

Moot Court Team Turns in Entertaining Performance

November 11, 2013

Michelle Pai and Eurick OBryant

Pepperdine Entertainment Team: From left: Brian Flemmer, Kevin Heitz, Justin Cutler, Anastasya Uskov and Professor Adrienne Brungess, '96

A McGeorge team advanced to the semifinals of the 16th Annual National Entertainment Moot Court Competition, held Nov. 9-10, 2013, at Pepperdine University in Malibu. Anastasya Uskov, Kevin Heitz and Justin Cutler won several matches in the preliminary rounds of the 24-school event before falling to UC Hastings. Professor Adrienne Brungess and student assistant coach Brian Flemmer worked with the team. Texas Tech outpointed Hastings in the title match.

Michele Pai and Eurik O'Bryant made a strong showing at the national finals of the 21st Annual Thomas Tang Moot Court Competition, held Nov. 8-9, 2013, in Kansas City. They advanced to the quarterfinals under the direction of Coach Erich Shiners, '06. Professor Hether Macfarlane and student coach Nikole Omotoy also worked with the team, which had advanced from one of the event's five regionals a month earlier. Hastings took top honors, beating Loyola of Chicago.

Two teams represented McGeorge at the National Criminal Procedure Tournament, held Nov. 7-10, 2013, in San Diego, but neither team advanced past the preliminary rounds of the 36-team competition. Jacob Smith and Liz Smutz comprised one team while Theresa Schriever and Kyle Clawson formed the other. Professor Ed Telfeyan, Gil Vega,'09, accompanied the teams, which was also prepped by student coach Jordan Maurer. Wisconsin beat Maryland in the championship round.