McGeorge School of Law

Moot Court Team Prepares for Ten Competitions

September 26, 2013

Moot Court Team

The McGeorge Moot Court team for 2013-2014: From left: Michael Heumann, Matt Chen, Justin Cutler, Tiffany Wan, Michelle Pai, Richard Silvestri, Yolanda Vo, Vignesh Ganapathy, Julianne Triphon, Sarah Schumacher, Nikole Omotoy, Anastasya Uskov, Haley Cose, Theresa Schriever, Eurik O'Bryant, Kiel Yager, Kyle Clawson, Professor Ed Telfeyan, '75, Brian Flemmer, Chelsea Tibbs, Brian Wiltshire, Elizabeth Smutz, Elizabeth Ramos, Kevin Heitz, Mahavir Jogani, Jordan Maurer, Amelia Hicks, Jake Smith, Robert Mayville, Jeffrey Hammer and Nicolas Kump

The nationally ranked McGeorge Moot Court Competition team will participate in 10 tournaments this year under the direction of Professor Ed Telfeyan, '75. Twenty-five members of the Moot Court Honors Board, joined by five second-year students, will compete in many of the elite appellate advocacy events held throughout the country.

Here's a look at the schedule:

Fall Competitions

Thomas Tang Moot Court I Oct. 11-12, 2013
Location: San Francisco, Calif.
Team: Jeffrey Hammer and Michael Heumann; Eurik O'Bryant and Michelle Pai
Assistant Coach: Nikole Omotoy
Coaches: Professor Hether Macfarlane and Erich Shiners, '06

New York National Moot Court I Nov. 20-21, 2013
Location: San Francisco, Calif.
Team: Mahavir Jogani, Tiffany Wan and Kiel Yager; Nicolas Kump, Elizabeth Ramos and Sarah Schumacher
Assistant Coach: Haley Cose
Coaches: Professor Ed Telfeyan, '75; Professor Jeff Proske, Etan Zaitsu, '11

Pepperdine University National Entertainment Law Moot Court I Nov. 9-10, 2013
Location: Malibu, Calif.
Team: Justin Cutler, Kevin Heitz, Anastasya Uskov
Assistant Coach: Brian Flemmer
Coach: Professor Adrienne Brungess, '96

San Diego National Criminal Procedure I Nov. 7-10, 2013
Location: San Diego, Calif.
Team: Kyle Clawson and Theresa Schriever; Jake Smith and Liz Smutz
Assistant Coach: Jordan Maurer
Coaches: Professor Ed Telfeyan, '75; Gilberto Vega, '10

Spring Competitions

ABA National Appellate Advocacy Competition I February - March 2014
Team: Nicolas Kump, Sarah Schumacher and Jake Smith; Michael Heumann, Anastasya Uskov and Tiffany Wan
Assistant Coach: Haley Cose
Coaches: Professor Ed Telfeyan, '75; Erich Shiners, '06

UC Davis Asylum & Refugee Law National Moot Court I March 14-16, 2014
Team: Jeffrey Hammer, Theresa Schriever and Elizabeth Smutz
Assistant Coach: Nikole Omotoy
Coach: Professor Gretchen Franz

Roger J. Traynor California Appellate Moot Court I Date TBD
Team: Eurik O'Bryant, Elizabeth Ramos
Coach: Professor Adrienne Brungess, '96

Niagara International Moot Court I Feb. 20-24, 2014
Location: Washington, D.C.
Team: Kyle Clawson and Mahavir Jogani; Justin Cutler and Kiel Yager
Assistant Coach: Jordan Maurer
Coach: Professor Mary-Beth Moylan and Professor Hether Macfarlane

Saul Lefkowitz Moot Court I Feb. 8, 2014
Location: San Francisco, Calif.
Team: Kevin Heitz and Michelle Pai
Assistant Coach: Brian Flemmer
Coach: Professor Mike Mireles, '98

Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court I April 2014
Team: Vignesh Ganapathy and Julianne Triphon; Yolanda Vo and Brian Wiltshire
Assistant Coach: Richard Silvestri
Coach: Professor Kojo Yelpaala