McGeorge School of Law

McGeorge Law Review's "Greensheets" Examines California Legislation

July 31, 2013

MLR Board 2012

McGeorge Law Review 2012-2013 board members: From Left, Ronak Patel, Anthony Bento, Christina Bucci, Allison Cross, Jeffrey Dodd, Amber Duvall, and Mark Freeman

"With a slow improvement in the economy and the approval in November 2012 of new tax revenue through Propositions 30 and 39, California saw a reprieve from years of gaping budget deficits," said Chief Legislation Editor Anthony Bento, '13, in his introduction. "Additionally, in a wide range of areas, from autonomous vehicles to gay rights, the state legislature grappled with California's evolving economy and society. This issue discusses many of these laws."

Class of 2013 graduates Sara Arfmann, Eric Bonnett, Steven Thomas Fazzi, Peter Handy, Alex Hogue, Rebecca Sem and Hunter Starr served as Legislation Editors under Bento. Allison Cross, '13, was the Editor-in-Chief of Volume 44 of the McGeorge Law Review.

Twenty one McGeorge students were published in Volume 44, Issue 3, of the law journal.

Josh Hunsucker, Nick Clair, Katherine Pankow, Scott Dyle, Sydney Smith, Michael Coleman, Benjamin Grimes, Kevin Heitz, Danielle Lenth, Kailey Hackbarth, Sean O'Dowd, Elizabeth Smutz, David Vidal, Cameron Easterling, Matt Read, Amanda Iller, Annakarina De La Torre-Fennell, Michelle Scheinman, Roman Edwards, Anthony Schiavo and Michelle Chester each had at least one article featured.

Michelle Scheinman received the the 2013 Stauffer Charitable Trust Award for her article, "Cyberfrontier: New Guidelines for Employers Regarding Employee Social Media." The Stauffer Charitable Trust Award, which carries with it a monetary stipend, recognizes outstanding student scholarship and excellence in writing.