McGeorge School of Law

McGeorge Competition Team Highlights 2013

July 15, 2013

Courtney Martin, Jay Leach, Cary Bricker

Courtney Martin with Professors Jay Leach and Cary Bricker

McGeorge has earned a national reputation for the quality of its mock trial and moot court teams, which annually compete in the most prestigious intercollegiate national and international events.

Courtney Martin received McGeorge's Barrister of the Year Award for her many accomplishments on the mock trial team. David Norton was named the American Board of Trial Advocates (ABOTA) Student Trial Advocate of the Year while John Ziegler collected Appellate Advocate of the Year honors. Those spring awards came after Amanda Iler received the inaugural ABOTA Sacramento Valley Chapter's Joe Ramsay Scholarship as the Outstanding Trial Advocate Award last fall.

There were many other highlights to the 2012-13 season. Theresa Schriever and Cole Sherman took third in the Roger J. Traynor California Appellate Moot Court Competition. Norton and Martin, coached by Keith Hill and Thien Ho, were finalists in the National Trial Competition Regional. Alisha Heilman and Peter Patrick Handy were second in 22nd Annual Saul Lefkowitz IP regional tournament.

The team of Megan Beaver, Justin Giovannettone, Madison Simmons and Sherman was the runner-up in the San Diego National Criminal Procedure Moot. Lauren Noland, Marianna Dietrich, Catherine Bonanno and Ziegler fared well in the New York National Moot regional. Keith Banks, Allison Pease, Carolos Ramirez, Michael Coleman and Brian Wiltshire made a strong showing the in the Jessup International Moot event.

There were many others highlights and Professor Ed Telfeyan, director of the moot court program, and Professor Cary Bricker, director of the mock trial team, are both eager to kick off a new season this fall. Moot court and mock trial team tryouts are open to all upper-division McGeorge students.