McGeorge School of Law

Ziegler Leads Moot Court Win

November 19, 2012

Ziegler Leads Moot Court Win

From left, Professor Ed Telfeyan, John Ziegler, Lauren Noland, Marianna Dietrich, Catherine Bonanno, Zach Scalzo, Devin Black, and Etan Zaitsu.

The team of Marianna Dietrich, Lauren Noland and John Ziegler won the Northern California regional of the 63th Annual New York National Moot Court Competition, which was held Nov. 14-15, at the U.S. Courthouse in Sacramento and UC Davis.

Ziegler was named the regional's top oralist, and the winning team also received an award for the third best brief at the Region 13 event. The McGeorge team and a runner-up UC Davis team qualified for the 30-team national finals scheduled Jan. 28-31, 2013, in New York City.

A second McGeorge team, comprised of Devin Black, Catherine Bonanno, and Zach Scalzo, advanced to the quarterfinals of the tournament before being eliminated by the UC Davis team that the Ziegler team beat in the championship round.

"All six of these students worked exceedingly hard for the better part of the semester, performed remarkably well this weekend, and should make all of us especially proud," said Professor Ed Telfeyan, the director of the McGeorge moot court program. Former moot court star Etan Zaitsu, a December 2011 graduate, and adjunct GLS prof Ric Schickele coached the teams along with Telfeyan.