McGeorge School of Law

Slocum, Gevurtz Share Sprankling Award

August 28, 2012

Faculty Awards

Professors Brian Slocum, left, and Frank Gevurtz are all smiles after receiving the Sprankling Award.

Professors Brian Slocum and Frank Gevurtz received the John G. Sprankling Faculty Scholarship Award for their contributions to legal scholarship during the 2011-12 year at the annual McGeorge Faculty Dinner on August 24, 2012, at the Hyatt Regency Sacramento.

Slocum was honored for his article, "Linguistics and 'Ordinary Meaning' Determinations," 33 Statute L. Rev. 39 (2012), which appeared in the Statute Law Review, a publication of the Oxford University Press in the United Kingdom. A fifth-year member of the faculty, Slocum is pursuing a PhD. in Linguistics at the UC Davis while teaching full-time at McGeorge.

Gevurtz, whose legal scholarship is widely cited in other academic journals and appellate court cases, was honored for his Washington Law Review article, “The Globalization of Corporate Law: The End of History or a Never-ending Story? 86 Wash. L. Rev. 475 (2011). Gevurtz is the co-director of McGeorge's Global Center for Business & Development.

Also at the faculty dinner, Professor Larry Levine received the Manolakas Extraordinary Contribution Award for his numerous contributions to the law school and received high praise from Assistant Dean Matt Downs, last year's co-winner. "We honor our esteemed colleague Larry this year specifically for his extraordinary leadership and dedicated service as vice chair of the Dean Search Committee and chair of the Search Committee for the Assistant Dean of Admissions," Downs said. "That service was in addition to the notable contributions Larry makes routinely to the law school — his volunteerism in student recruitment and Legal Scholars Day model classes, his development of the Poile LGBT Civil Rights Scholarship, his engagement with alumni throughout California, to give just a few examples."

Professors Jerry Caplan, Joe Taylor and Sprankling each were recognized for 20 years of service on the faculty. Gevurtz, who celebrates 30 years of service this year, was also honored. Teacher of the Year Awards, which are voted on by the student body, went to Professor Cary Bricker (Evening Division) and Sprankling (Day Division).

Professor Emily Garcia Uhrig was recognized for receiving tenure and promotion to full professor. Also, Adrienne Brungess and Gretchen Franz received promotion to Professor of Lawyering Skills, and received promotion to Associate Professor of Lawyering Skills.