McGeorge School of Law

Moot Court Team Will Compete in 14 Events This Year

September 13, 2012

Moot Court team 2012-13

The 2012-13 McGeorge Moot Court Competition Team: from left, Brian Wiltshire, Peter Handy, Justin Giovannettone, Michael Coleman, Elizabeth Smutz, James Roberts, Ashley Connell, Marianna Dietrich, Catherine Bonanno, Ali Rakhshanifar, Pooja Kumar, Professor Ed Telfeyan, Lauren Nolan, (top). Alisha Heilman (below), Madison Simmons, Megan Beaver, Devin Black, Vivian Cho, Keith Banks, Allison Ramsey, Jacob Smith, Carlos Ramirez, Cole Sherman, Zackary Scalzo, Jared Christensen (top), Matt Percey (below), Michael Heumann (top), Tiana Walkowsky (below), Elliot Karlin and David Bass

The nationally ranked McGeorge Moot Court Competition team launches an ambitious, 14-tournament schedule this year under the direction of Professor Ed Telfeyan, '75.

Twenty-six members of the Moot Court Honors Board, joined by five second-year students, will compete in many of the elite appellate advocacy events held throughout the country. McGeorge slipped out of the Top 25 rankings last year after attaining a No. 9 rating in the country for its performance in the 2010-2011 season.

This year's team is determined to move back up in the rankings, and they face a difficult schedule that will see them match skills with the perennial powerful powers in the nation.

Here's a look at the schedule:

Fall 2012 Competitions

Fifth Annual Stetson Pretrial (Brief Writing and Oral Advocacy)
October 11-14, 2012
Gulfport, Florida
(BW) David Bass, Jared Christensen
Coaches: Stephanie Thompson, Maureen Moran
(OA) Rebecca Hause, Vanessa Hunter
Coach: Parker White

San Diego National Criminal Procedure October 25-28, 2012
San Diego
Megan Beaver, Justin Giovannettone, Zachary Scalzo, Cole Sherman
Coaches: Ed Telfeyan, Gil Vega

20th Annual Thomas Tang International Western Regional October 26-27, 2012
Host: McGeorge
Vivian Cho, Ashley Connell, Pooja Kumar, Ali Rakhshanifar
Coaches: Hether Macfarlane, Erich Shiners

15th Annual Pepperdine National Entertainment Law Moot Court November 9-11, 2012
Peter Patrick Handy, Alisha Heilman, Elliot Karlin
Coaches: Adrienne Brungess, Gretchen Franz

64th Annual New York National November 14-15, 2012
Region 1
Site: TBA
Devin Black, Catherine Bonanno, Marianna Dietrich, Lauren Noland, John Ziegler
Coaches: Ed Telfeyan, Ric Schickele, Etan Zaitsu

Spring 2013 Competitions

54th Annual Jessup International Regional Site, Date: TBA
Keith Banks Michael Coleman, Carlos Ramirez, Allison Ramsay, Brian Wiltshire
Coaches: Kojo Yelpaala, Maureen Watkins

22nd Annual Saul Lefkowitz Intellectual Property West Regional February 9, 2013
San Francisco
Peter Patrick Handy, Alisha Heilman
Coach: Mike Mireles

Ninth Annual International Criminal Court Regional Round for the Americas February 2013
White Plains, New York
Matthew Percey, James Roberts, Elizabeth Smutz, Tiana Walkowsky
Coaches: Linda Carter, John Sims

Sixth Annual Asylum & Refugee Law February 2013
Davis, California
Marianna Dietrich Pooja Kumar Lauren Noland
Coaches: Gretchen Franz, Mary-Beth Moylan

33rd Annual ABA National Appellate Advocacy Feb. 21-13, 2013 or Feb. 28-March 2, 2013
San Francisco
Megan Beaver, Justin Giovannettone, Elliot Karlin, Michael Heumann, Jacob Smith
Coaches: Ed Telfeyan, Erich Shiners

Fourth Annual National Cultural Heritage February 22-23, 2013
Devin Black, Madison Simmons
Coaches: Jeff Proske, Maureen Moran

46th Annual Niagara International February 28-March 2, 2013
Toronto, Canada
Catherine Bonanno, Ali Rakhshanifar, John Ziegler
Coaches: Mary-Beth Moylan, Hether Macfarlane

41st Annual Roger J. Traynor California Appellate April 2013
Site: TBA
Zachary Scalzo, Cole Sherman, Theresa Schriever
Coaches: Adrienne Brungess and Nirav Desai

18th Annual Inter-American Human Rights May 20-24, 2013
Washington, D.C.
David Bass, Jared Christensen
Coaches: Raquel Aldana, Jennifer Gibson