McGeorge School of Law

Kuffel Wins Global Lawyering Skills II Final Four

April 6, 2012

The 2012 GLS II Final Four contestants

The 2012 GLS II Final Four contestants: From left, Devin Black, Justice Art Scotland, Natalie Kuffel, Judge Connie Callahan, Stephen Hallett, Justice Elena Duarte and Cole Sherman

Second-year Evening Division student Natalie Kuffel won the Top Oral Advocate Award at the McGeorge Global Lawyering Skills Final Four competition on April 5.

Judge Connie Callahan, '75, U.S. Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals, presided over the program flanked by Art Scotland, '74, the former presiding justice of the California Third District Court of Appeal, and Justice Elena J, Duarte, a current member of the same Third District Court of Appeal.

Kuffel and her classmate, Stephen Hallett, argued for the plaintiff-appellee in a complex federal circuit court case that involved many issues including international jurisdiction. Second-year Day students Devin Black and Cole Sherman represented the defendant-appellant. All four received the Diana P. Scott Prize for outstanding moot court achievement in the program's preliminary rounds.

Megan Beaver, Allison Ramsay, Zachary Scalzo and Anthony Yu were honored with Best Brief Awards. Regia Araujo, Kristian Colby, David Norton and Sean O'Dowd were also cited for reaching the semifinal round of eight in the oral competition.

Teaching assistants this academic year included Patrick Blood, Travis Clark, Christina Cortino, Erin Evans Fudem, Matt Hoseley, Kristen "Brooke" Jensen, David Kimball Stephenson, Geneva Lai, Gianni Pattas, Steven Shedd, Caitlin Smith, Dan Taylor, Sarah Tobias, Damien Troutman and Tiana Walkowsky.

Professors Mary-Beth Moylan and Stephanie Thompson are the director and assistant director, respectively, of the GLS II program. Judge Thadd Blizzard, Ben Bratman, Adrienne Brungess, Jenny Darlington-Person, Gretchen Franz, Kathleen Friedrich, Hether Macfarlane, Caitlin Manoogian, Jeff Proske, Ric Schickele, Ed Telfeyan and Maureen Watkins comprise the GLS faculty.