McGeorge School of Law

Dean Parker recognized as Chamber's 2011 Businesswoman of the Year

January 30, 2012

Elizabeth Rindskopf Parker, Dean of McGeorge School of Law, University of the Pacific, is the Sacramento Metro Chamber of Commerce 2011 Businesswoman of the Year.

Dean Parker was honored on Jan. 28, 2012, at the Chamber's 117th annual Dinner and Business Awards at the Hyatt Regency in Sacramento.

The Businesswoman of the Year Award is given annually to a leader to recognize the growth of an enterprise, and her notable contributions toward community service over a five-year period.

Under Dean Parker’s leadership, McGeorge School of Law has risen in the ranks to among the Top 100 law schools in the nation. Her vision to foster greater diversity in the legal profession led to her instrumental work in forming Natomas Pacific Pathways Prep (NP3), a law-themed charter high school designated a California Distinguished School in 2011. The State Bar of California also honored the McGeorge Education Pipeline Initiative in 2009.

Also honored was Businessman of the Year Pat Fry, president and chief executive officer of Sutter Health, and Sacramentan of the Year Michael Ziegler, president and chief executive officer of PRIDE Industries. A video tribute to Dean Parker was shown at the dinner.

The Metro Chamber’s Business Awards recognize outstanding individuals and businesses throughout the six-county region for excellence in business leadership, commitment to our community and dedication to fostering a quality environment for others to live, work, play and to raise a family.

With more than 1,000 students, McGeorge School of Law is the only ABA-approved law school campus located in Sacramento. The school was founded in 1924 and joined University of the Pacific in 1966. It has 52 full-time and 70 part-time faculty who have attained national and international renown in their fields. McGeorge is nationally known for its advocacy programs and has one of the largest, most well-respected international law programs and award-winning moot court competition teams.