McGeorge School of Law

Dean Parker Receives Top Administrator Award

May 3, 2012

Dean Parker Receives Top Administrator Award

Elizabeth Rindskopf Parker

Elizabeth Rindskopf Parker, Dean of the McGeorge School of Law, University of the Pacific, was named Public Administrator of the Year by the American Society of Public Administration (ASPA), Sacramento Chapter, for service and outstanding contributions to the community. The award was presented at the ASPA Annual Awards Dinner in Sacramento on May 2.

Dr. Chester A. Newland, professor at the USC Sol Price School of Public Policy, attributed Dean Parker's selection for the top award to her international leadership and national distinction.

Under Dean Parker's leadership, McGeorge has risen to among the Top 100 law schools in the nation, and the school was ranked in 2012 in the top 20 schools for International Law by U.S. News & World Report. Her vision to foster greater diversity in the legal profession led to her instrumental work in forming Natomas Pacific Pathways Prep (NP3), a law-themed charter high school designated a California Distinguished School in 2011.

During Dean Parker's ten years of dedicated service, she embraced many initiatives to expand the international impact of McGeorge. She championed the expansion of student study and faculty exchanges in Europe, Latin America, Africa, and Asia. Dean Parker guided the school to embark on a USAID-funded experiential learning program to teach young law professors American advocacy skills with China, and more recently, Afghanistan. She encouraged faculty leaders to pursue an initiative to globalize legal curriculum. One of many ways this initiative was realized is through the "Global Issues" book series, which is now 23-volumes strong and used in more than 50 law schools around the nation.

In January, Dean Parker was recognized as the Sacramento Metro Chamber of Commerce 2011 Businesswoman of the Year for her notable contributions toward community service.

Past recipients of the Public Administrator of the Year Award include the former President of California State University, Sacramento, Donald R. Gerth; California State Librarian Kevin Starr; Department of Managed Health Care Director Cindy Ehnes; California Legislative Analyst Elizabeth Hill; Sacramento City Manager Bob Thomas, and SMUD General Manager Jan Schori.