McGeorge School of Law

Cooley Wins Assembly Seat

November 12, 2012

Ken Cooley

Ken Cooley

Ken Cooley, '84, was declared the winner of the 8th Assembly District on Nov. 9, 2012, as the results of a hard-fought legislative race on the November general election ballot were made official by the California Secretary of State.

Cooley, a Democrat, attorney and legislative counsel, won nearly 53 percent of the vote in a district that comprises the eastern suburbs of Sacramento California. He had finished first in the June primary election and attributed his victory to months of door-to-door contact with voters.

The longtime Rancho Cordova councilman and former mayor will join fellow alum Jeff Gorell, '98, (R-Ventura) who was re-elected in District 44, in the lower body of the legislature. McGeorge also boasts two members of the Senate, majority leader Ellen Corbett, '85, (D-San Leandro) and Judiciary Committee chairwoman Noreen Evans, '81, making it the only law school to have four members in the new incoming legislature.

From 1991 to 2008, Cooley was senior counsel to the State Farm Insurance Co. His legislative staff service, both before and after his work with the insurance company, includes stints as chief of staff to a former assemblyman, chief counsel to the Assembly Banking and Insurance Committee, legislative director for a state senator, and principal consultant to the Senate Insurance Committee.

Cooley ran unsuccessfully for a Senate seat in January 2011 in a special election that followed the death of a state senator.