McGeorge School of Law

309 McGeorge Grads Earn JD Degrees

May 16, 2012

Commencement 2012


McGeorge awarded 309 Juris Doctor degrees and 38 LLM degrees in celebration of its 88th academic year on May 12, at Sacramento's Memorial Auditorium.

Chief Justice Tani Cantil-Sakauye of the California Supreme Court was the commencement speaker. She painted a realistic picture of the California justice system and the legal employment landscape given the state's financial woes, but she said each graduate was well-armed with a law degree and could play a role in solutions to today's societal problems.

"The chief justice's powerful words — spoken without a note — on the challenges facing our judicial system were an inspiring call to action for us all," said Dean Elizabeth Rindskopf Parker, who presided over her 10th and final graduation ceremony and is stepping down from her post on June 1.

"Provost Maria Pallavicini spoke eloquently about the important role our graduates must play, and our three student speakers — Travis Clark (Day) Barbara Thomas (Evening) and Adriana Aguena (LLM) — were excellent.

Katerina Deaver and Leo Moniz received the valedictorian awards for the Day and Evening Divisions, respectively. Other awards presented at the ceremony included:

Outstanding Graduate Awards: Lindsay McCarl (Day), Leo Moniz (Evening)

Scholastic Achievement: Carissa Bouwer, Ekaterina Deaver (Day), Abigail Maurer, John Walker (Evening)

Outstanding Student Achievement: Brian Hamilton, Ashley Porter (Day), Etan Zaitsu (Evening)

ALI-ABA Leadership: Megan Cosgrove, Jacqueline Hassell

Outstanding Student Service : Colin Hendricks, Shani Roark, Erika Gonzalez, Sage Kaveny