McGeorge School of Law

Moot Court Team Starts Its Season This Month

October 4, 2011

The 2011-12 Moot Court Competition Team

The 2011-12 Moot Court Competition Team: From left, first row: Katie O'Connor, Courtney Martin, Harpreet Nakhwal, Brittany Griffith, Tim Kamermayer, Andrea Moon, Hema Patel, Sara Kim, Amy Hammond, Jeremy Ehrlich, Professor Ed Telfeyan and Amber Simmons. Second row, Christina Cortino, Brad Coutinho, Michael Coleman, Nicole List, Deepa Kulkarni, Casey Anderson, Jason Buscaino, Chris Braniff, Peng Thao, Gianni Pattas and Susan Booth. Top row, Kevin Quade, Ashley Porter, William Denis, Elliot Karlin, Charles Caraway, Erin Chan-Adams and Justin Giovannettone

Coming off its best year ever under the direction of Professor Ed Telfeyan, '75, the McGeorge Moot Court Competition Team embarks upon a difficult fall schedule later this month to start its 2011-2012 season.

Last year's McGeorge team was ranked No. 9 in the country by the Blakely Advocacy Institute, which compiles statistics on all moot court competitions open to American law schools. The team qualified two entries for the 32nd Annual National Appellate Advocacy Competition, one finishing second in the country and the other taking top brief honors. That was just one of many highlights of a memorable season.

This year's 22-person team begins its season with Mercer University School of Law's 2nd Annual Legal Ethics and Professionalism Moot Court. Andrea Moon, '13, Deepa Kulkarni, '12, and Charles Caraway, '13, will represent the school at event, which is scheduled for Oct. 20 to 22 in Macon, Georgia.

Pacific will send two teams to the Thomas Tang International Moot Court regional competition set for Oct. 28-29 at the University of Denver Sturm School of Law. Ha "Sara" Kim, '13, and Amy Hammond, '12, will form one team while veteran Brad Coutinho, '12, and Harpreet Nakhwal, '12, comprise the second entry.

Casey Anderson, '12, and Brittany Griffith, '12, will be paired in the San Diego National Criminal Procedure Competition on Nov. 3-5. The tandem of Erin Chan-Adams, '12, and Hema Patel, '12, is also entered in that competition.

Two three-person teams will compete in the New York National Moot Court Competition regional on Nov. 10-11 in San Francisco. Veterans Jeremy Ehrlich, '12, and Susan Booth, '12, will be joined by Amber Simmons, '12. Newcomers Timothy Kamermayer, '12, and Jason Buscaino, '12, will work with returnee Cassie Shaft, '12, on the other unit.

Peng Thao, '13 William Denis, '12, and Christina Cortino, '12, will carry the McGeorge banner into the 14th Annual Pepperdine University School of Law National Entertainment Law Moot Court Competition, scheduled for Nov. 11-13 in Malibu.

Kevin Quade, '12, and Ashley Porter, '12, will team with designated brief writer Chris Braniff, '12, for the University of Houston Law Center Moot Court National Championship, which is set for Jan. 25-28. This invitation-only event, sponsored by Andrews Kirth LLP, features the top 16 moot court programs in the nation. Although the oral argument portion is in the spring, it is also considered a fall competition because the brief is due prior to finals at McGeorge.

Gianni Pattas, '12, who teamed with Braniff last year to win a brief award at Pepperdine, is the executive chair of the McGeorge team. The research assistants are Justin Giovannettone, '13, Katie O'Connor, '13, Elliott Karlin, '13, Courtney Martin, '13, and Michael Coleman, '13. The administrators are Nicole List, '12, for the fall, and Tiana Walkowsky, '13, for the spring.