McGeorge School of Law

Moot Court Team Celebrates Its Best Season Ever

May 23, 2011

Professor Ed Telfeyan with Kim Bowman Jr. and Etan Zaitsu

Professor Ed Telfeyan with Kim Bowman Jr. and Etan Zaitsu

McGeorge celebrated arguably its best season ever in moot court competition during the 2010-11 academic year, bringing home hardware from seven national and international events.

The Sacramento law school's success in intercollegiate competitions dates back to the mid-1970s when it won two Roger J. Traynor titles in a four-year span. The last century's high-water mark for the program came with consecutive national titles (1981-82) in the William C. Jessup International Law tournament. Previous winners in that prestigious competition had included only names such as Columbia, Duke, Georgetown, Michigan, Texas and Vanderbilt.

A one-two showing in the ABA National Appellate Advocacy Competition highlighted this year's record-breaking efforts. One McGeorge team won the best brief award in that event, which attracted more than 200 teams, while another McGeorge team took second place in the national finals in which both competed.

"It was a truly remarkable year. I want to thank all the students, and the coaches and professors who worked so hard with them," said Professor Ed Telfeyan, '74, the director of the moot court program. "We are ranked No. 8 in the country in two separate national rating systems, neither of which includes the California-schools-only Traynor competition that we dominated this year."

"There were so many outstanding students on the team," Telfeyan added. "Kim Bowman Jr. and Etan Zaitsu shared our Appellate Advocate of the Year Award, but they would be the first to credit their teammates for individual honors they achieved."

Here are the highlights of a memorable season:

32nd Annual National Appellate Advocacy Competition

  • Team One — Second Place, National Championship — Kim Bowman Jr., Conness Thompson, Jeremy Ehrlich
  • Team Two — Best Brief, National Championship — Caitlin Urie Christian, Jill Larrabee, Leo Moniz

7th Annual International Criminal Court Competition

  • Second Place, United States — World Championship Qualifier — Susan Booth, Krystal Collins, Scott Radcliffe, David Magnan

39th Annual Roger J. Traynor Competition

  • Bernard E. Witkin Award — Best Overall Team — Brandon Esraelian, Corrie Erickson, Brad Coutinho

20th Annual Saul Lefkowitz IP Competition

  • Second Place and Best Oralist, Regional — Chris Braniff, Gianni Pattas

13th National Entertainment Competition

  • Best Petitioner Brief — Chris Braniff, Gianni Pattas, Blaire Sederoff

19th Annual Thomas Tang Competition

  • Second Place, Regional — National Championship Qualifier — Etan Zaitsu, Catherine Mariano

44th Annual Niagara International Competition

  • Third Place — Best Applicant Memorial — Catherine Mariano, Matt Vance, Elyssia Musolino