McGeorge School of Law

Mock Trial Team Faces Four Fall Competitions

September 16, 2011

The 2011-12 Pacific McGeorge Mock Trial Team students and coaches

The 2011-12 McGeorge Mock Trial Team students and coaches: Front row, from left, Tony Danielson, Rebecca Kelly, Michelle Wells, Courtney Martin, Ha Nguyen, Amy Caskey and Rebecca Hause. Second row, Kendra Bertschy, Vanessa Hunter, Clayton McCarl, Claire Calvert, Stephanie Aarseth, Caitlin Smith, Leland Washington and Thien Ho. Third row, Hunter Starr, Shani Roark, Greg Porter, Erin Murphy and Meredith Cammisa. Back row, David Wiksell, Tim Balcom, Jason Schaff, Bret Wasley, Jeff Schaff, Alan Donato, Derek Hoffman, Keith Hill, David Norton and Dan Taylor

Professor Cary Bricker will lead a strong blend of rookie second-year students and veteran third-year students into four intercollegiate mock trial competitions this fall.

The McGeorge Mock Trial Competition Team's 2011-12 season begins next month at the St. John's University School of Law National Civil Rights Trial Competition (Oct. 27 through 29). Dan Taylor, '12, Greg Porter, '13, Vanessa Hunter, '13, and Erin Murphy, '12 will be joined by Coaches Leland Washington, '01, and Jason Schaff, '06, at the New York event.

Stephanie Aarseth, '12, Claire Calvert, '13, Caitlin Smith, '12, Clayton McCarl,'12 will represent the school at the California Attorneys for Criminal Justice National Criminal Trial Advocacy Competition. Bret Wasley, '08, and Alan Donato, '09, will coach in that San Francisco (Nov. 3 through 5) tournament.

Derek Hoffman, '12 David Norton, '13 Courtney Martin, '12, Rebecca Kelly, '13, accompanied by Coaches Keith Hill, '96, and Thien Ho,'98, form the local entry for the 8th Annual Buffalo Niagara Mock Trial Competition (Nov. 4 through 6), which will be held in the Buffalo City Court.

Hunter Starr, '13, Shani Roark, '12, Tony Danielson, '12, and Michelle Wells, '12 (aka Team Balcom) will tangle with a powerful field in the 10th Annual National Civil Trial Competition (Nov. 10 through 12), hosted by Loyola of Los Angeles. Veteran Coach Tim Balcom, '97, will be joined by David Wiksell, '10, on the sidelines.

Kendra Bertschy, '12, Amy Caskey, '12, Rebecca Hause, '13, and Ha Ngyuen, '13, with Coaches Meredith Cammisa, '09, and Jeff Schaff, '10, form a scrimmage team that will battle the other foursomes in practice rounds and in the All-McGeorge Tournament.