McGeorge School of Law

Giovannettone Claims First-Year Moot Trophy

May 2, 2011

Etan Zaitsu, '11 with Zachary Schultz and Justin Giovannettone

Etan Zaitsu, '11 with Zachary Schultz and Justin Giovannettone

Justin Giovannettone was crowned the top overall advocate at the championship round of the 3rd Annual McGeorge First-Year Moot Court Competition on April 12, 2011.

Giovannettone combined a best brief award with an appearance in the oral advocacy final four to win the trophy in the event which is sponsored by the Moot Court Honors Board. Zachary Schultz won top oral advocate honors. Michael Coleman and Alisha Heilman also were in the final four. Roman Edwards finished second in the brief rankings followed by Hunter Starr and Suni Alexander, respectively. Honors Board member Etan Zaitsu, '11, presented plaques to the winners at the Advocacy Awards Banquet.

Forty-five students entered the competition, which required a five-page brief written over spring break and a seven-minute oral argument during rounds held April 8-12. Ten competitors were selected to advance to the semifinal round, and of those ten, four were selected to compete in the final round.

The Moot Court Honors Board's competition committee spent months preparing for the competition, which included writing the problem, researching case law, and recruiting students. Moot court members also judged the first and second round of the competition and scored the briefs. Professors Adrienne Brungess, Hether Macfarlane, and Courtney Lee also lent a hand by judging the final round.