McGeorge School of Law

Faculty, Staff Members Receive Major Awards

August 26, 2011

Award winners

Left, Sprankling Award winner Thom Main with Podesto Award winner Linda Carter, John Sprankling, and Manolakas Award co-winner Matt Downs

Professor Thomas Main became the first two-time winner of the Sprankling Faculty Scholarship Award on Aug. 19, 2011, at the annual McGeorge Faculty Dinner at the Sutter Club.

Main was recognized for writing "The Procedural Foundation of Substantive Law," 87 Wash. U. L. Rev. 801 (2010), an insightful article on the tenuous distinction between procedure and substance. The article argues that the substance-procedure dichotomy is problematic not simply because procedural law is inherently substantive, but also because substantive law is inherently procedural.

"The award committee found the article exceptional in both 'substance' and 'procedure'," said Professor Jarrod Wong, in making the presentation to Main. "Not only does the article shed new light on a fundamental problem, it does so in a literate fashion that impresses for its craftsmanship, clarity of execution, deft use of legal history, and effective deployment of examples."

Main first won the award back in 2006. Other recipients of the honor include John Sprankling, Brian Landsberg, Julie Davies, Emily Garcia Uhrig and Wong.

Also at the faculty dinner, Assistant Dean for Library Services and Programs Matt Downs and Executive Director of Administrative Resources David Lambertson shared the Manolakas Award for their tireless efforts in overseeing construction of the new Legal Studies Center. Professor Linda Carter was recognized as the law school's winner of the University's 2011 Podesto Award, first given to her in May. The award goes to "an outstanding educator who has directly touched and enriched the lives of Pacific students."