McGeorge School of Law

Scotland, Child Win Judicial Council Awards

September 1, 2010

Curtis Child and Justice Arthur Scotland

Curtis Child and Justice Arthur Scotland

It was a Sacramento sweep as two McGeorge alumni and a local state legislator closely identified with the school walked off with top honors as the Judicial Council of California announced the winners of its 2010 Distinguished Service Awards.

Justice Arthur Scotland, '74, the presiding justice of the Court of Appeal, Third Appellate District, received the Ronald M. George Award for Judicial Excellence. Scotland was honored for his contributions to the statewide administration of justice, his leadership of the Third Appellate District, and his humanitarian work in Sacramento. He is involved in numerous outreach organizations in the capital city's legal community, including the McGeorge-based Anthony M. Kennedy Inn of Court as a long-time member and past president.

Curtis Child, '84, director of the Office of Governmental Affairs of the Administrative Office of the Courts, received the Judicial Council's Judicial Administration Award. He was chosen for his service as chief legislative advocate for the judicial branch and for working to strengthen collaboration between the judicial and legislative branches of government. Child, who spearheaded the authorization of a $5 billion court facilities bond issue, was the speaker last May at McGeorge's Order of the Coif luncheon.

A third individual with a McGeorge connection, Darrell Steinberg, president pro tempore of the California Senate, received the Judicial Council's Bernard E. Witkin Amicus Curiae Award. Senator Steinberg was cited for his efforts last year to minimize the negative impact of state budget shortfalls on the judicial branch and court users. The Sacramento legislator was the lead speaker at McGeorge's inaugural Citizenship Fair in November and was the law school's commencement speaker in May.

Professor Clark Kelso (1998) and former adjunct professor Phil Isenberg (1996) are previous winners of the Witkin Amicus Curiae Award. All three awards were first given in 1993.