McGeorge School of Law

Mock Trial Team Features New Names

September 21, 2010

2010-2011 Pacific McGeorge Mock Trial Competition Team

2010-2011 McGeorge Mock Trial Competition Team: Front row, from left, Coach Tim Balcom, Tony Danielson, Clayton McCarl, Caitlin Smith and Stephanie Aarseth; Middle row, Nikole McQuillan, Diane Coderniz, Nicole Shaker, Coach Alan Donato, Vanessa Hunter and Edward Lester; Back row, Jesse Saucedo, Stephen Redd, Kendra Bentschy, Sydne Jones Christensen, Coach Meghan Baker, Coach Jason Schaff, Dan Taylor, Jammie Sammut and Danielle Wheeler

Twenty-four students have been named to the 2010-2011 McGeorge Mock Trial Competition Team, which will represent the law school in national intercollegiate competitions this academic year.

Only five students return from last year's team so the roster is loaded with newcomers. The selections were made following a series of preliminary-round tryouts (August 27-28) open to all students and a championship finals tournament held on September 3, 2010.

Two teams will represent the law school in the San Diego Defense Lawyers Invitational Mock Trial Competition (October 22-24). Michelle Wells, Dan Taylor, Vanessa Hunter and Jamie Sammut form one unit while Edward Lester, David Snapp, Jen Kishimizu and Nicole Shaker comprise the other entry.

McGeorge will enter the St. John's University School of Law National Civil Rights Trial Competition (October 21-24) for the first time with April Matsinger, Stephen Redd, Sydne Jones Christensen and Kendra Bertschy carrying the school banner.

Tony Danielson, Shani Roark, Clayton McCarl and Caitlin Smith will face formidable competition in the University of Buffalo School of Law's 30-team Buffalo-Niagara Mock Trial Tournament (November 11-13).

That same weekend, Nikole McQuillan, Diane Coderniz, Jesse Saucedo and Matt Taylor will compete in 9th annual National Civil Trial Competition. The preliminary elimination rounds will be held in downtown Los Angeles at the U.S. Federal Courthouse. The semi-final and final rounds will be argued at Loyola Law School.

In addition to the five frontline units, Danielle Wheeler, Stephanie Arseth, Amy Caskey and Amy Hammond were named to a scrimmage team that will battle the other foursomes in practice rounds and in the All-McGeorge Tournament.

In the spring, McGeorge will defend its regional title in the Texas Young Lawyers Mock Trial Competition and send teams to the Association of Trial Lawyers of America's event.