McGeorge School of Law

It's Another Big Year For Advocacy Teams

June 16, 2010

Mock Trial Team

Mock Trial Team

McGeorge's intercollegiate mock trial and moot court teams enjoyed another successful season during the 2009-10 academic year even as they were earning a No. 5 national ranking for the overall strength of their internal programs.

For the third year in a row and the fourth year in the last five, a McGeorge mock trial advanced to the national championship of the National Trial Competition. David Wiksell and Chris Chin defeated a UC Hastings team in a final-round match in the February regional competition at Stanford Law School. They posted a 1-1-1 record against the best teams in the nation in March at the nationals hosted by the Texas Young Lawyers Association in Dallas, Texas.

In other mock trial tournaments, Kim Bowman, Lauren Layne, Chin and Wiksell advanced to the semi-finals of the Loyola 8th Annual National Civil Trial Competition. Nikole McQuillan, Matt Robinson, Matthew Taylor and Ray Thomas advanced to the final four of the 6th Annual Buffalo Niagara National Mock Trial Tournament. Juilet Cho, Will Jackson, Cathleen Penney and Kate Rankin took second in the San Diego Defense Lawyers Mock Trial event. Jesse Saucedo, Diane Coderniz, Robert Rice and McQuillan advanced to the semi-final round of the American Association for Justice Competition. McGeorge also hosted the 5th Annual National Ethics Trial Competition that featured a powerful field of teams with the University of Houston emerging as the champion.

Moot Court highlights included a strong showing by Dianna Chinn, Mayling Leong, Katie Mattesich and Sevana Sossikian in the Niagara Moot Court competition held in February in Washington, D.C. Earlier in the fall, Chinn won the Best Oralist award in the western regional of the Thomas Tang Moot Court. She and her teammate, Cheryl Shitabata, advanced to the national finals in November in Boston.

In other moot court events, Luke Hendrix and Mark Narveson won individual awards in the 12th Annual National Entertainment Moot Court. Nathaniel Clark, Katie Mattesich and Seaton Tsai fared well, but were knocked out by Yale in the International Criminal Court Moot with Mattesich earning an award for Best Victims Advocate Brief. Conness Thompson and Cody Drabble placed third in the Roger J. Traynor tournament. Two teams, Mark Carlson and Jessalee Samar, and Joel Demant and Andrea Dupray, placed among the top eight teams in the 40-team San Diego National Criminal Procedure Moot. Fatima Igbal, Smara, Demant and Tsai competed in the Philip C. Jessup International forum with Tsai garnering top ten oralist honors. McGeorge teams also turned in admirable performances in the National Appellate Advocacy tourney and the Saul Lefkowitz IP Moot Court event.