McGeorge School of Law

Coif Adds 31 New Flavors From Class of 2010

May 17, 2010

Shelby Gatlin, Jennie Bretschneider and James Houston

Three outstanding members of the Evening Division were among inductees to the Order of the Coif. They are, from left, Shelby Gatlin, Jennie Bretschneider and James Houston.

The McGeorge chapter of the Order of the Coif inducted 31 members of the Class of 2010 into its honors organization at an on-campus banquet on May 14, 2010.

Professor Thom Main, the chapter president, emceed the event that featured Curtis Child, ’84, director of the office of governmental affairs for the Judicial Council of California’s Administrative Office of the Courts.

“Always look for opportunities and don’t be afraid to step through open doors as you advance through your career,” Child said. He also urged the new inductees to make pro bono service a part of their profession and “make every effort to promote the public’s confidence” in the justice system.

It was the 28 th annual Order of the Coif Congratulatory Luncheon for McGeorge, which holds the 59 th chapter in the 81-law school honorary society. Other schools that boast chapters in the Order include Yale, Emory, Stanford and the University of Chicago. New graduates must have finished in the top 10 percent of their classes to qualify for election to membership.

Professor Clark Kelso, secretary/treasurer of the McGeorge chapter, introduced the new members. They include:

  • Aaron Bergman
  • Andrew Bernick
  • Jennie Bretschneider
  • Christopher Cavagnaro
  • Ronald Darbee
  • Emily Foehr
  • Shelby Gatlin
  • Boryana Georgieva
  • TeriAnn Grimes
  • Rebekah Grodsky
  • Evelyn Grosenick
  • Stephanie Hartung
  • Jeremy Hendrix
  • Emily Hirsekorn
  • James Houston
  • Caitlin Howard
  • Frank W. Jackson
  • Jared Laiti
  • Mayling Leong
  • Samuel Levy
  • Adam Link
  • Andrea Logue
  • Robert Lopez
  • Jennifer Marsh
  • Kevin McKinley
  • Courtney Przybylski
  • Corin Saxton
  • Craig Tomlins
  • Daniel Vandekoolwyk
  • David Wiksell
  • Grant Zehnder