McGeorge School of Law

Niagara Team Takes Second

March 5, 2009

Miranda Carroll, Devi Kumar, Sandeep Vishwa, Yury Kolesnikov

Miranda Carroll, ’09, Devi Kumar, ’09, Sandeep Vishwa, ’09 and Yury Kolesnikov, ’09

McGeorge finished second against stiff competition and walked off with several team awards at the Niagara International Moot Court Competition, held February 26-28, 2009 in Toronto, Canada.

Miranda Carroll, ’09, Devi Kumar, ’09, Sandeep Vishwa, ’09 and Yury Kolesnikov, ’09, comprised Professor Mary-Beth Moylan’s team, which went to the finals of the event and finished as a runner-up to Case Western Reserve University.

In addition to the semi-finalist award, the McGeorge team was cited for second-place in both the applicant’s memorial and the respondent’s memorial. The impressive, 20-team field included teams from Georgetown, American University, Michigan State, George Washington, DePaul and Washington University in St. Louis. Three top-notch Canadian law schools also participated.

“In the four preliminary rounds, our applicants (Carroll and Kumar) argued on behalf of the government of Canada two times, and our respondents (Vishwa and Kolesnikov) argued on behalf of the United States two times,” said Moylan. “We advanced to the semi-finals in the No. 2 position. Miranda and Devi artfully swayed the bench in the semi-final round. Sandeep and Yury did a terrific job in the finals, but we couldn’t pull it off.”

“All in all it was a wonderful outcome and we received many warm feelings, despite the frigid temperatures outside,” she added.

The Niagara Moot is administered by the Canada-United States Law Institute and sponsored by several major Canadian law firms.