McGeorge School of Law

Damrell Inspires Class of 2009

May 19, 2009

Judge Frank C. Damrell Jr. delivered the commencement address as McGeorge presented 254 J.D. and 51 LLM degrees at a ceremony marking the conclusion of its 85 th academic year.

Damrell drew upon historical references to Abraham Lincoln, Robert H. Jackson and Thurgood Marshall to inspire the graduates to go forward and lead in their profession. “It is the American lawyer who has forced us to live up to the Constitution,” he said. “Lawyers must lead larger lives as the defenders” of our country’s finest traditions. “That is your challenge; this is your time. I envy you.

A crowd of more than 3,200 family and friends was on hand for the festivities on May 16, 2009 at Sacramento’s Memorial Auditorium. Dean Elizabeth Rindskopf Parker presided over the ceremony, which included a special salute to President Dr. Don DeRosa who is retiring after 14 years at the helm of the three-campus University of the Pacific.

Preston Morgan (Day Division), Jeff Schaff (Evening Division), and Spanish attorney Beatriz Gonzalez (LLM) represented their sections as student speakers for the Class of 2009. Yury Kolesnikov and Andalyn Pace earned valedictorian honors for the Day Division and Evening Division, respectively, and were recognized with the Outstanding Graduating Senior Award.

Other graduates recognized by the Faculty Committee on Honors and Awards included:

Outstanding Scholastic Achievement Award

  • Cameron Desmond
  • Preston Morgan
  • Richard Gilbert
  • Melissa Meth

Outstanding Student Achievement Award

  • Jeremy West
  • Adam Shoor

ALI-ABA Scholarship & Leadership Award

  • Oona Mallett
  • Andrew Meditz

Outstanding Student Service Award

  • Megan Herberger
  • Allysia Holland
  • Daniel Boyle
  • Jeffrey Jewett

Who’s Who Among Students

  • In American Universities and Colleges
  • Rysheda McClendon
  • Jill Lukins