McGeorge School of Law

Noorali Wins Final Four Title

March 31, 2008

Stacy Boulware Eurie, Samira Noorali, Judge Diane Wood, Judge William Shubb

From left: Judge Stacy Boulware Eurie, Top Advocate Samira Noorali, Judge Diane Wood, and Judge William Shubb

Samira Noorali 2E took home the Top Oral Advocate award in a spirited contest with other finalists Jim Houston 2E, Allysia Holland 2D, and Jill Himlan 2D on March 27 in the Appellate & International Advocacy Final Four competition. Each shares the Diana P. Scott Prize for excellence in appellate advocacy.

Judge Diane Wood of the 7th Circuit U.S. Court of Appeals presided over the finals of the McGeorge moot court program along with Judge William Shubb, U.S. District Court, Eastern District of California, and Judge Stacy Boulware Eurie, Sacramento Superior Court.

Best Brief awards went to Donald Miller and Stephanie Watson for plaintiff-appellant papers and Chris Rusby and Cara Jenkins for defendant-appellee documents.

Professor Mary-Beth Moylan, the assistant director of the Appellate & International Advocacy course, played a key organizational role in the event. Professor George Harris is the director of the second-year program. Professor Eric McElwain is the international coordinator.