McGeorge School of Law

New Entry Makes A Big Impression

April 21, 2008

Niagra Moot Court Team

Niagra Moot Court Team

McGeorge fielded a team for the first time ever in the 40-year old Niagara International Moot Court competition, held March 29-30 in Washington, D.C., and received the award for second-best memorial (brief) in the competition.

Third-year students Caely Fallini, Ivan Marrs and Leslie Ramos comprised the McGeorge team that competed against 15 other law schools, including three from Canada. Case Western Reserve, Mercer, Catholic, American, DePaul, Michigan State, Washington University and John Marshall were among the American schools represented.

“Most teams had four students, but Ivan had to argue in all four preliminary rounds, arguing twice on each side of the problem,” said Professor Eric McElwain who accompanied the team. “All the other teams had been working on the problem since October, but our team did not register until January and only began its legal research then. Despite their late start, despite having one person less than other teams, and despite having no prior knowledge of international trade law, our team produced the second-best written argument.”

The Niagara problem was based on an international trade law dispute between the U.S. and Canada involving NAFTA and GATT. The Niagara Moot is sponsored by the United States International Law Institute, Western Ontario University School of Law and Case Western Reserve.

Professor Mary-Beth Moylan worked with the McGeorge team prior to the competition.