McGeorge School of Law

McGeorge Grads Receive Degrees

May 17, 2006

Michael Greco, the president of the American Bar Association, gave the keynote address at the commencement ceremony marking McGeorge’s 82nd academic year on May 13 in Sacramento.

Greco warned about the threats to judicial independence coming from special interest groups and political parties that seek to force judges to decide cases on popular opinion, not the law. Birgit Fladager, ’86, received the Alumna of the Year Award. The chief deputy district attorney for Stanislaus County was recognized for efforts in the prosecution of Scott Peterson. More than 310 McGeorge students received J.D. degrees and another 31 received LLM degrees. Carolyn Caforio and Hanspeter Walter were the valedictorians for the Day and Evening divisions, respectively. Caforio and Erich Shiners were recognized with Outstanding Graduating Senior awards. Dean Elizabeth Rindskopf Parker presided over the ceremony at Memorial Auditorium.