McGeorge School of Law

Ashley Elected to CA State Bar's Board of Governors

October 9, 2004

Five attorneys were chosen this week to serve three-year terms on the State Bar's Board of Governors. The new members are: Ruthe Catolico Ashley of Sacramento, James A. Scharf of San Jose, Jeffrey L. Bleich of San Francisco, Jo-Ann Whitney Grace of Los Angeles and Marguerite D. Whichard Downing of Los Angeles. All new members will take the oath of office Oct. 9 during the State Bar's Annual Meeting in Monterey. Additionally, the California Young Lawyers' (CYLA) board selected Anthony Paul (A.P.) Diaz to serve a second term as the CYLA representative to the Board of Governors. The Board of Governors is a 23 member board comprised of newly-elected President John Van de Camp, 16 lawyer members including the newly-elected governors and 5 public members. They set policy and regulations that affect the practice of law for 195,000 California licensed attorneys. Ashley joins a list of stellar McGeorge alums who have served the State Bar on the Board of Governors including Tom Eres, Kevin Culhane, Sam Jackson, and current board member Paul Hokokian of Fresno.