News & Events

Home > News > Valedictorians Deaver, Moniz Headline Coif Class
  • Print
  • Share
  • Questions

Coif Luncheon

Deb Kollars, center, was among the smiling inductees at the Order of the Coif's 30th Annual Luncheon. Other inductees included, Evening Division valedictorian Leo Moniz to her right, and Day Division valedictorian Ekaterina Deaver to her left.

Valedictorians Deaver, Moniz Headline Coif Class

May 11, 2012

Tags: 2012, Student Life

Day Division valedictorian Ekaterina Deaver and Evening Division valedictorian Leo Moniz headline a group of 31 new members of the McGeorge chapter of the Order of the Coif.

The academic stars of the Class of 2012 were inducted into the honor society at an on-campus banquet on May 10, 2012. Professor Michael Vitiello, the chapter's new president, emceed the event, which featured outgoing Dean Elizabeth Rindskopf Parker as its keynote speaker.

Former California Supreme Court Justice Cruz Reynoso, longtime adjunct professor Sacramento County Superior Court Judge Kevin Culhane, '76, and Sacramento Bar Association President June Coleman, '97, were among the distinguished guests.

It was the 30th annual Order of the Coif Congratulatory Luncheon for McGeorge, which holds the 59th chapter in the 82-law school honorary society. Other schools that boast chapters in the organization include Yale, Emory, Stanford and the University of Chicago. New graduates must have finished in the top 10 percent of their classes to qualify for election to membership.

Professor Clark Kelso, secretary/treasurer of the McGeorge chapter, introduced the new Coif members. In addition to the valedictorians Moniz and Deaver, they include:

  • Stephanie A. Aarseth
  • Casey M. Anderson
  • Susan N. Booth
  • Carissa L. Bouwer
  • Giuseppe S. Cortese
  • Megan A. Cosgrove
  • Anthony I. Danielson
  • Shaun T. Edwards
  • Nathaniel W. Grader
  • Howard S. Hamilton
  • Alexander T. Hughes
  • Deborah J. Kollars
  • Abigail S. Maurer
  • Clayton S. McCarl
  • Lindsay I. McCarl
  • Micaela L. Neal
  • Jeffrey J. Patrick
  • Jessica P. Petersen
  • Ashley M. Porter
  • Stacy Saechao
  • Daniel G. Taylor
  • Andrea M. Upton
  • Therese M. Vradenburg
  • John S. Walker
  • Kimberly A. Webb
  • Allan J. Woodworth
  • Michael D. Youril
  • Etan Zaitsu
  • Tamana Zhublawar