News & Events

Home > News > Moot Team Takes Home Awards From All Five Fall Competitions
  • Print
  • Share
  • Questions

McGeorge Moot Court Team Members Amanda Ryan, Lauren Ngo, Hasan Shaik, Ian McGlone, Virginia Martucci, Professor Ed Telfeyan, Kimberly Van Spronsen, Jenifer Gee, Karly McCrory, Chris Maloney, Michael Shepherd and Sheena Farro.

Moot Team Takes Home Awards From All Five Fall Competitions

November 24, 2015

Tags: Alumni, Advocacy Center, Student Life, Competition Teams, 2015, News

The McGeorge moot court team enjoyed a highly successful fall 2015 campaign, collecting a bevy of individual awards and advancing to the final rounds in the National Moot Court Competition.

Ian McGlone opened the season on a high note, capturing the Best Speaker Award in the Thomas Tang Moot Western Regional, which was held Oct. 23-24 at Thomas Jefferson School of Law. He and his partner, Catherine Hawe, battled but did not advance to the semifinals of the tournament, which was won by Chapman. Their coaches were Professor Hether Macfarlane, Aaron Okazaki, and Megan Beaver, '13, who accompanied the team to San Diego. Southern Methodist beat Ohio State for the national title on Nov. 7 in New Orleans, where the finals of the Tang event were held in conjunction with the National Asian Pacific Bar Association's annual convention.

Sean Creadick and Virginia Martucci represented McGeorge at the University of San Diego School of Law's National Criminal Procedure Tournament on Nov. 5-6. Creadick finished fourth in the best individual advocate category. Martucci and Creadick's petitioner brief took fifth place, and they advanced to the quarterfinals in a large field.  Professor Ed Telfeyan, assistant coach Gil Vega,'10, research assistant Jose Parra and student coach Raja Hafed worked with the team. UC Hastings beat American University Washington College of Law in the final round.

McGeorge played host to the Northern California regional round of the New York City Bar Association's National Moot Court Competition on Nov.13-14. The finals were an all-McGeorge event as Jenifer Gee and Kimberly Van Spronsen outpointed Michael Shepherd and Sheena Farro. Other schools in the nine-team field included UC Berkeley, UC Davis, UC Hastings and Santa Clara. Gee was named the top oralist. Van Spronsen and Gee were recognized for second-best brief. Professor Telfeyan, Etan Zaitsu,'12, and Patrick Lewis coached the McGeorge teams. The winners advance to the finals rounds of the 66th annual tournament, which will be held Feb. 9-12, 2016 in New York City.

Two other events took place the weekend of Nov. 13. Two McGeorge teams competed in the Chicago Bar Association's tourney. Karly McCrory and Chris Maloney were recognized for second-best brief and advanced to the quarterfinals of the competition. Jessica Melgar and James Ward made the octofinals. Professor Michael Vitiello, Mark Gallagher, '95, who traveled to Chicago with the foursome, and Brooke Fries coached the teams. The fall season ended on a sunny note in Malibu as Lauren Ngo, Hasan Shaik and Amanda Ryan's written work was judged the best respondent brief at Pepperdine's 18th Annual National Entertainment Law Moot Court Competition. Professor Michael Mireles, '98, and Gabrielle Cutler mentored the team.

Slideshow of Moot Court Teams and Awards

McGeorge Moot Court Fall 2015 Recap